You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Season Begins. Crack Your Own Whip! Market Garden @schoonercreek

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Amazing post. Got me right into veggie dreamin' mode.
I can't wait to sow some stuff in my greenhouse this spring, it'll be my first spring with it so lots of learning to do!
I apprciate these gardening blogs so much, so inspiring :)
Much love,
@amymya

Sort:  

Thank you very much! Sounds like fun, what seeds are you looking forward to sowing most this year?

Well i really want to do spinach in the greenhouse early, haven't had much luck with that yet, and i want to expand my purselane growing areas so that I've always got my fav "weed" on hand.

I love Purslane as well, what a medicinal superfood! It spreads very rapidly and can become a weed, which you probably already know. I like it when it grows outside the garden in clean, but weedy areas ;-) What is your favorite seed company to order herbs from?

So far I mostly order from the local companies, like annapolis seeds and hope seeds, they are amazing little companies that sell mostly heirloom organic selections from local growers. I don't have to buy a lot of seed now as I'm getting pretty good at saving!

Great! What all seeds do you save currently?

Tons of tomato varieties (most I first recieved from @karenfoster) cuke, squash, zuke, peppers of all sorts, flowers, purselane and basil, beans and peas, corn, lettuce, chard, radish, Im trying to over winter carrots currently to have them flower this year.. We'll see! Probably forgetting others, haha :) As many as I can!

Thats wonderful!!! Huge goal of mine to save seed, but somehow time gets away from me every year! I want to at least save Tomato seed this year...

How do you keep your Cucurbits from crossing? Thats a tricky one for me...

Tomatoes are the easiest! Just squish some guts from your biggest bestest fruit into a paper towel and let it dry completely. When you go to plant in the spring just rip a piece off!

I haven't been able to prevent cross pollination, haven't really had a problem with it though. I'm sure i'll run up against an issue before too long but I'll figure it out when it comes along :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67653.09
ETH 3789.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50