You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌊 Salt Water Cures All: Vitamin Sea Vitality 🌊

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

You're bringing back a lot of memories for me.

I grew up in L.A., and was diagnosed with asthma at three years old, which was exacerbated by the heavy smog, which gets trapped in the valleys by the surrounding mountains.

When I turned seventeen, we moved to Santa Monica, so that I could attend Santa Monica College . . . and my asthma all but went away. I had been outgrowing it for years, but the move to the beach heralded the effective end to my asthma, and I have very rarely had attacks since.

Part of it is that that part of the coast has near constant onshore breezes, so they blew most of the smog inland, away from where we were living. But a lot of it was because I regularly bodysurfed, and SCUBA dived when possible, which helped more than anything else. Even walking on the beach with my dog improved my health and breathing immeasurably.

And when I entered the water, I was immediately in a meditative state . . . I was "at level," to use the phrasing of the Silva Method. For me, entering into the water is, in a very real sense, entering the ocean's embrace, and I felt embraced, by a caring and loving Mother Earth.

And, interestingly, I've never had that feeling in a river or a lake - only in the ocean. Water is conscious, of that I have zero doubt, but the ocean is more than just the sum of its water . . . it is Conscious personified; every being that has ever set foot in her has heft his or her mark, and every being that lives, or has ever lived within her is a part of the whole.

And she is healing because she is Love. ;-)

Sort:  

You expressed this soooo beautifully. I absolutely love your words here!!! Gah!! Beautiful!! YOu soooo get it. I agree - I love a river or a lake or a cold mountain stream, but NOTHING compares to the ocean - ma xx

I agree completely.

The World Ocean is amazing and restorative, infinitely more vast than anything but the Universe itself.

Interestingly, at least to me, I did a meditation a few months back, just listening to the sounds of our woods, and clearly heard the words, "Water is God."

And I felt like I had come home. It made so much sense, and this is how it has always affected me.

After all, every religion or spiritual practice has initiation rituals involving water. Water, in nearly all spiritual traditions, is sacred.

Mystics over the centuries have maintained that in the absence of God (or Spirit, or whatever name is used), there is no life.

Scientifically, biologically, in the absense of water, quite literally, there is no life.

Which is why living waters are always the most restorative for our health.

If water won't support life, I prefer not to drink it, which is why I do my best to filter out the chlorine, fluoride and other toxins that would harm fish and invertebrates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92