Gratitude and Positivity Challenge Day 1: Steemit!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


Today is my first day of the gratitude and positivity challenge. I have chosen to take up this challenge because gratitude is such a powerful and transformative emotion. This morning I was hanging out with some wild horses, many of them were very friendly and one even nuzzled me whilst I petted it. As I walked back home I met another horse that was quite shy and little scared of me, and wouldn't let me approach it. So I crouched down and made friendly horsey noises as it looked on into the distance. Then i started saying some words to it, and one of those words was thank you. The very moment I thanked this horse just for being there, it immediately looked toward me and held my gaze. I could feel that she was very receptive to this, it was no co-incidence. Our feelings of gratitude are so powerful, and can change us and the world around us.

I would like to start this gratitude challenge by thanking @ned and @dan and all those involved in the creation of the Steem blockchain. It's not often that my life is completely changed by something as seemingly innocuous as a WEBSITE, and yet that is exactly what Steemit has done. There are so many aspects of Steemit that I am grateful for, and I would like to share as many of the positives as I can.

First and foremost, I am grateful to YOU, here with me and with us sharing in this pioneering blockchain revolution. The ramifications of what Steemit is doing will have ripples that reach far and beyond what we can see here today. This is a test folks, and it is one of the most engaging and soulful groups I have ever been a part of. It does genuinely BLOW ME AWAY when I see how many amazing, beautiful, intelligent, heart filled, and simply amazing people i know on Steemit. My Facebook feed is like a junkyard of ads and nothingnes in comparison.. filled with lonely and closed minded people who want nothing more than to fill their time with meaningless drivel. Of course there are exceptions, but that is how it feels.

I lost my only source of income 6 months ago! As I live an off-grid life, and have spent most of my time living in foreign countries it has been very hard to find new work. I spent countless hours applying for freelance work on upwork.com and whilst I did get a few small jobs it was totally soul destroying. Life was very uninspiring whilst I was working on the most boring websites, receiving a tiny payment, and having to chase and try to convince people to let me work with them on projects that I didn't have any interest in. I think i lasted about a month until i just gave up trying, because I had Steemit!

I never used to write or read much until I discovered Steemit. Now i have been able to share just about anything and everything that I desire with people who are so receptive to it! This isn't work, this isn't a job, and yet it provides me with virtually all the income i have now for just doing what I love. Life doesn't get much better than that, and I am extremely grateful to Steemit for giving me the opportunity to share, learn, discover, and engage with so many amazing people. I can't even imagine what I would be doing right now if it wasn't for this virtual paradise, and I shudder to imagine what kind of stress and sacrifices I would have had to make to survive.

I feel like a real part of the Steemit community and that feeling has a warm and cozy place in my heart. I don't have much of a community outside of Steemit these days, and so being a part of something greater than myself is a great gift and one that brings me a lot of joy and comfort. The world can seem like a cold and lonely place sometimes, but the moment i open up my feeds and discord channels I am suddenly a a part of something wonderful and feel nurtured and loved. I must mention @tribesteemup at this point, because being a part of the tribe has been a wonderful gift and acknowledgment to the efforts I make every day. The tribe is so big that I am still discovering many of the people on it, and keep being surprised at the beauty and energy of the people in it. Not least, @kennyskitchen who shines like a star and GIVES so much to us all and in many ways.

SO, not to overstate this ... I think you get the idea ... and no doubt most of you agree, I LOVE STEEMIT, and all of YOU here with me. THANK YOU for being a part of my life and helping me to grow and appreciate what I have.

With massive thanks to

@canadian-coconut | @v4vapid | @jamesc | @kennyskitchen | @tribesteemup | @adamkokesh | @markwhittam | @alexis555 | @ripperone | @familyprotection | @newhope| @mangos | @teamsteem | @jerrybanfield | @curie | @eftnow | @wwf | @inspirewithwords | @afifa | @aware007 | @artemislives | @celestialcow | @ecoinstant | @holisticmom | @hopehuggs | @misslasvegas @mountainjewel | @nainaztengra | @omdemian | @rainbowrachel | @riverflows | @sashagenji | @senorcoconut | @schoonercreek | @sharoonyasir | @solarsupermama | @stillgideon | @stortebeker | @thegreens | @thelaundrylady | @trucklife-family | @vegan.niinja | @wombloom | @zen-art and YOU!

<3 xx <3
@eco-alex


~ABOUT THIS CHALLENGE~
I was tagged by a few wonderful people to: Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
✔ Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
( I WONT BE DOING THIS IN A ROW, BUT CLOSE TO IT!)
✔ Mention three people who should do this on each day.
(I GUESS IM JUST A RULE BREAKER, I WILL NOT BE NOMINATING ANYONE UNTIL THE END)
✔ Tag it with #positivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
✔ Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)


The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp

 

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover amazing people in the ecoTrain magazine at @ecoTrain

 

Sort:  

I so appreciate your share about the connection with the horse, and thanks for that reminder of a time from my past. Also really resonate with your appreciation of Steemit, tribesteemup, and all those who make both possible, plus the community of folks that make it meaningful.

Sidepoint: I noticed when I came to upvote this that I had already upvoted it. That may be because I follow the Tribesteemup curation trail, but I do a 2% auto-upvote there and it shows on your post as 0%. How does 0% ever happen at all?

I'll change the upvote manually to make it larger in a bit, but want to leave it that way for now so you can see what I'm talking about. Any idea what went on there?

thanks a lot for the kind words! im glad I put my little horse story in.. they are the highlight of my morning!

Im just guessing but it may be that your voting power went down enough that the curation trail just didnt really vote for you.. if you want to vote again you can remove your vote by clicking the upvote button again and then reapply it manually with a % that you like

hope that helps! <3 thanks for reading and Engaging!

Nice one @eco-alex, that's a magnificent challenge.
Let's bring positivity in the steem blockchain. It is good to have people like you in the platform and i appreciate the contribution you give to the community. Today i visited your latest contents in this blog and also the ones in your other blog ecotrain and i liked them so i decided to delegate some sp to ecotrain to give my support and show my gratitude for the amazing work you are doing. Have a great weekend mate

awee. thank you for this lovely comment and for taking the time to check out my blogs! and Very many thanks for your delegation.. every bit really helps ... <3 much love!

...and made friendly horsey noises

I would love to see that :)
Great start of this challenge, steemit really is an amazing place. 💚

lol.. yes.. im sure you can imagine.. im full of silly sounds

WOW @eco-alex, this is a fantastic post, and spells out so much of what's in my heart about this growing, expanding digital ecosystem (if you will). It turns out my situation with work is nearly identical to yours, which is what's given me the time to begin my REAL work right here, where it belongs. My wife, bless her, is what's kept me afloat in the corrupt 'job market', and I, like many, am very grateful to (and for) you, @eco-alex, for all you've already done for so many of us trying to make our way on the blockchain and throwing in our lots to spark the change we all so dearly want. Wonderful post, wonderful work my friend!
Much love to you and all,
-Logan

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wonderful brilliant work. Definitely need more of this in the world 💯🐒

thank you @eco-alex for all that you do, you are one of the most community driven people I know on here, my whole steemit experience changed when I became a passenger on the EcoTrain and I have not looked back since then.
love your encounter with the wild horses, how they respond to you is such a testament of who you are. Much love and respect to you xxx

Big hug! Xxx

Seems like a great challenge @eco-alex. And you are very lucky to have some kind of interaction with wildlife like those beautiful horses. Being in the metro city, I do not get to experience such stuff. But I really like to visit nearby places where we can get some time off with all the city's hassle and spend some time with nature.

By the way, just like you, I have made so many friends on Steemit and thanks to this great community, I am now more confident to create more content everyday. People around here motivates me to become a better version of myself. I would def take part in this challenge. Seems fun and it will surely spread some smiles all around. :)

Congratulations @eco-alex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63