The ecoTrain Highlights Magazine: This weeks topics include Vegan Cooking, Stories, Poetry, Politics, Nature, A.I., Ancestral Healing, and more!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

This week's roundup of the @ecoTrain posts are as interesting as ever. Our passengers continue to bring such great value to Steemit, with their amazing posts and insights. There is always something for everyone and on a diverse range of topics.

If this is your first time reading the ecoTrain magazine you are in for a treat! We post on anything that helps to make the world a better place, and this weeks we have covered many topics such as lifestyle, spirituality, parenting, cooking, art, education. organic gardening, poetry, homesteading.... and much more!

 

@trucklife-family

Are You Living on the Edge?

We all live such different lives and the way we spend our time is very valuable to us all. We have made choices which have led us to where we are today, personal choices that have brought us to this exact point in our lives.

Where are you now?

What has your journey been like?

Is this where you envisaged you would be?

I have always known from a young age that I wanted to get away from my home, to escape, to roam. That urge grew and grew in me and turned into a passion for travelling. With that came the opportunity to really open my eyes to the world around me, instead of just looking at a book (yeah no internet when I was growing up) and imaging and reading about what was happening in different countries, I would get to go there and experience first hand what our beautiful world was like.

Untainted-100 Days of Poetry Challenge: Day Sixty Six

Untainted

When faced with this thought
that draws upon my sense of freedom,
who I am,
to dictate the way in which
you create your wisdom,
the many different ways in which to express
your own unique and magnificent self,
the joy you hold in discovering anew
the many wonders that shine from you.
To watch you soar,

Trying To Be Gentle With Myself

It seems like the most simple thing in the world, to be gentle with myself. It makes perfect sense that in order for me to be healthy and happy that I need to look after my well being. Yet time and again I allow myself to get run down, to just push myself too much. I am not invincible, I might like to pretend I am at times but I am not.

@holisticmom

Household Detergents: The Silent Polluters And Some Natural Alternatives

Laundry detergents, washing up liquids, fabric softeners, kitchen and bathroom cleaners.

Since 1933 following the introduction of synthetic cleaners, the modern world has been happily keeping their families clean. However studiesover the years have increasingly shown that using these cleaners can not only pose a risk to human health, but also contributes to water pollution and disruption of the ecosystem and aquatic life, with potential long term effects.

Upcycled and Repurposed ~ Building My Garden

Greetings fellow Steemians. Hope you are all having a wonderful start to the week?

I have a vested interest in leaving as little impact on this planet as possible. I try to follow the 4 R's principles wherever possible, Re-Use, Recycle, Repurpose and Refuse. We produce so much waste on a daily basis, most of it ends up in landfills or dumped in the ocean. Most man-made products take years to biodegrade and I feel really uncomfortable contributing to that.

@sharoonyasir

Breathe.. Just Breathe...

Life is as easy or difficult as you want it to be. This is something I truly believe in. That said, there do come certain instances and turning points in one's life where you just don't know what to do, when nothing makes you happy, when nothing seems to head in the right direction and when no matter how much you try to simplify things, they keep on twisting and become more complicated.

You aren't the only one involved in your life, are you? There are lots of people you meet, interact with, build relations with and choose to live with. All those people and the different interactions, experiences and episodes you have with them and the different experiences you have solo shape your life and you cannot always control all of that. Because of that lack of control, you do feel frustrated, helpless, hopeless and lost in life, and you know what, that's okay.

@stortebeker

Ride With Me – Midnight Mystery Moon-ride

Among the social bike-events in Victoria are the Midnight Mystery Rides. Since I missed the last one, I decided to stay in town long enough to experience one of these famous rides. The idea is to get together on bicycles, and follow a “guide” to cool places along exciting routes. Since there is relatively little traffic late at night, we wouldn't be bothered by many motorists.

@solarsupermama

Little Changes, Big Difference: Cloth Diapers

There has always been a bit of dissension within environmental movements as to the relevance or usefulness of small changes. Those involved in large movements or massive changes requiring essentially leaving the mainstream of society have been known to turn their noses up at things like recycling or LED lights. In both cases, though, I would say we have seen a massive shift where, at least in the US, these are now nearly universal practices, and that does make a significant difference. So, I have decided to start a series called Little Change, Big Difference detailing some things you can easily do right now to reduce your footprint that can actually make a big difference, especially on a larger cultural scale.

Mothers and Mental Health

Now it's Tuesday. I just couldn't quite get it posted yesterday. Luckily, it's all still true!

It's #mentalhealthmonday. Time will tell if this actually makes it to the posting state while it's still Monday, but maybe that's the point. Motherhood. I'm on the fourth sentence, and I've already stopped to calm a crying child, fix an owie, and get her some mac-n-cheese.

I'm not sure where and when Mother's Day is celebrated in different places. I know here in Belize it's a different day from the US. Whatever the case for you, I celebrated Mother's Day Sunday because I'm originally from the US and also because that's where my mama is. I know Mother's Day was originally Mothers' Day and a call to mothers around the world to band together and stop the patriarchy from stealing our sons and teaching them to murder the sons of other mamas. That is certainly a worthy cause and one I am actually quite passionate about, as those of you reading my Jelsa story must know, but today I want to focus on the modern Mother's Day and mothers' mental health more generally.

@mountainjewel

Our Permaculture Homestead Walkabout | PURE JOY at the Perennials: Flowers, Medicines, Foods! (Photo Log)

Hey! Welcome to Mountain Jewel, our permaculture homestead.

We are Ini and Wren, a homesteading duo dedicated to Plants and Cultivating, Enjoying & Sharing the Abundance that this earth affords if we PARTNER with her instead of seeking to dominate, control or heedlessly take from.

Episode 2 ReWilding Your Gut | Supporting Your Microbiome Through Wild Fermentation (Radish & Wild Onion Recipe)

There's a lot of public attention centered around probiotics, and rightfully so. Much of the mainstream consciousness is geared towards lab grown strains of isolated bacteria. While this is fine concept, there a much more ancient, empowered and accessible way to get probiotics. You can culture them in your own micro bioregion (your kitchen, for instance) to feed your unique microbiome.


@afifa

A new study shows the use of cell reprogramming can result to muscle regeneration

This could open the door to new research and possible therapies for muscular diseases the result obtained in an experimentation on mice by Konrad Hochedlinger and colleagues of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute: the reprogramming of mature skin cells into immature muscle cells called induced myogenic progenitors ( IMPC). Prolonged to proliferate, iMPCs are able to produce a cell population that shares the same properties as skeletal muscle stem cells.

New AI knows how to take shortcuts

Struggling with a labyrinth, deep learning , a particular approach of artificial intelligence that has as its model the networks of neurons, has proven to be able to find creative solutions, such as taking shortcuts, just like a mammal would. The analysis then showed that for this task the deep learning networks spontaneously reproduce the activation patterns of the grid neurons, the GPS system of the brain.

The importance of play in child learning development

The children's game is experimentation, it starts from an internalized vision of the behaviors that their parents indirectly transmit.

If for parents the play of children is a simply fun activity that can complete or fill the children's days, keeping them busy learning or experimenting, for the child it is a difficult task that requires an important cognitive and experiential commitment.

@eco-alex

Why is the grass always greener on the other side?

Nothing demonstrates this strange but true human quirk more than when I trade cryptocurrency. I don't know if it's just me, but the moment I buy any cryptocurrency I suddenly get the feeling that it is going to go down and I made a bad choice.. That feeling is strong enough that many times I reverse the decision and sell it, only to suddenly feel like I was again wrong and actually it is going to go up.. It is like a mind game that I am playing and it can be so frustrating. Am I mad, or do any of you have the same experience?! In life things are no different, and I can think of so many examples where things only seem better when I don't have them!

@nainaztengra

Magic of Crystals #11 - The Legendary Turquoise

Last 15 days have been completely action packed for me. While I am still recovering from my Iran trip hangover, I am excited to write about my precious possession that I found in Iran. My Turquoise Crystal. I have been long awaiting for this one, but was not able to find a genuine one, finally I get my piece, it's a small one but I am happy I could find a genuine one. Along with the Turquoise I also managed to get some beautiful pieces of Fluorite, Lapis Lazuli, Rose Quartz and Malachite, I already have them and these are just new additions to my collection, but I absolutely adorn them, all of them are charming and gorgeous and I feel my trip was fruitful as I got my hands on my most precious possessions my Crystals 😍

@thegreens

#GoGreen with The Greens (@thegreens) on Steemit!

#GoGreen with The Greens (@thegreens) on Steemit!

Green greetings Steemians,

@thegreens is happy to inform all Steemians that from the 14 of May 2018, they shall color every week green as follows;

Mondays - Green Quote

Green Quote of the week is an environmental quote, riddle or wise saying that is meant to inspire you take environmental action during the week. At the begining of everyweek (Monday), we shall post a green quote!

#GreenQuote: "Let's deepen our sense responsibility and commitment as ancestors to future generations ..."

What wrong did our ancestors do to pass on to us, a sustainable planet?
Don't we owe future generations a sustainable planet?
How often do we think about the future of our children and the future of our children's children?
In our #GreenQuote of the week, we want you all to reflect about the future of our future and try to get a glimpse of what the future looks like.

@misslasvegas

The Irish are slowly being poisoned. Coming soon globally - to a town near you.


When I first moved to Ireland, I was looking forward to living a healthier, more wholesome life. Growing my own vegetables and living off the land instead of from the grocery store. I was sure that most people here were living like that. And if they weren't growing their own food, I was sure there would be organically grown food everywhere in the shops and markets. The country carries the name the Emerald Isle for a reason I thought and it's true: it's green everywhere you look.

@celestialcow

How to use the whole beet? Zero Waste Recipe! lebanese style stuffed 'beet leaves' + Beet fritters

If you like Middle Eastern Food you would of surely tried the awesome dish Warak Arish. Traditionally its stuffed wrapped grape vine leaves. The traditional Lebanese recipe is made with white rice and lamb or beef and served with yogurt. Obviously my version is veganized and well I switched the Grape leaves for Beet Leaves and the rice to red, because I like my food with color :)

@omdemian

Clearing our Ancestral Lineage

The more I give healing sessions, as a healer, the more I encounter this issue : Everyone is in the process to release and clear their ancestral lineage.

We all have ancestors, other wise we would not be here, and many of them had some struggle.
Either they didn't go to the Light at the moment of their death, for whatever reason. (attachment, presence of entity at the time of death, surprise death.), or maybe they were cursed or under the influence of some magic spell.

 

@artemislives

Phra Mae Thoranii - The Thai Story of the Earth Mother on Mother's Day.

According to legend, it was actually the Earth Mother who interceded and enabled the Buddha to reach enlightenment. In Thai, we call her Phra Mae Thoranii, and she is usually seen near fountains and ponds, wringing out her hair.

Today, Mother's Day in many countries, seems a perfect day to share the story of how the Earth Mother intervened in Siddhartha Guatama's enlightenment.

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

DRIVER
@eco-alex

CONDUCTOR
@hopehuggs

PASSENGERS
@artemislives
@celestialcow
@clara-andriessen
@ecoinstant
@holisticmom
@hopehuggs
@likedeeler
@misslasvegas
@mountainjewel
@nainaztengra
@omdemian
@sagescrub
@sashagenji
@schoonercreek
@sharoonyasir
@solarsupermama
@stillgideon
@stillwatersart
@stortebeker
@thegreens
@trucklife-family

 

If you are new to Steemit, love to write, and would like to join the ecoTrain community as an official passenger please email me on [email protected]

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **

 

CLICK HERE TO JOIN US ON DISCORD AND MEET SOME GREAT AUTHENTIC PEOPLE

 

Sort:  

What an AMAZING diversity of quality content!! Gratitude to you @eco-alex for driving this train positively, creatively and with some impressive skills to optimize exposure and encourage great content and shared rewards. Resteemed and shared to our steemit mastermind group too.

Just check out this amazingly diverse train, always feeling very lucky to be aboard with such inspirational people. Thank you @eco-alex for bringing and keeping us all together.

Blessed to be part of such a forward thinking, caring and kind-hearted group of individuals. I've really read some amazing things from you all over the last couple of weeks. Thank you @eco-alex and all @ecotrain passengers. One love to you all.

Thanks for the love.. it reaches my heart very
Nicely.. thank u and right back at ya!

Yes i like most of the article which upload in steemit. There is too much knowledge post which is really helpful that's why i love steemit

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Oh, I have been missing some of the posts lately and it is always so good to have them in one place! Thanks, @eco-alex for such a great job you do combining all of them for us to see and read! I have been quiet with writing for past weeks while finishing my latest project but will be back in full force with starting from next week. I am so happy to be part of @eco-train and always discover such new experiences while simple reading the post from fantastic guys we have @eco-train! It always reminds me that when people unite changes are possible and we do it each day%)

Image Source

Lovely to hear from u!! Miseed u sasha!

Hi, how does the homestead guru get involved with the eco train?

Well,, would u like to write or curate?

Please join us on discord and we can chat!

So pleased to find this post @eco-alex. I hope to meet others. I'm sure we have so much to learn from one another. I have just posted this, after reading the post about digging for water by @offgrid-online
https://steemit.com/preppers/@buckaroo/when-the-well-is-dry-we-will-know-the-worth-of-water

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01