What's growing in my house!? The Flora of Earthship Karuna!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Whats growing in your house? A few pot plants at least I hope!You know it's pretty easy to grownthings much bigger than pot plants in your house, especially if it has nice big south facing windows. Lets face it, most of us can spare a bit of space near our windows, if not the window sill itself! Well, Earthship Karuna was built by yours truly, and so i was able to pre-plan some pretty bit 'pots' into the design. Not only that but the planter is located just next to and below the kitchen sink, and so I can water it all by just washing some dishes and cups!


These tomato plants are now front and centre of this kitchen planter. They make a nice natural curtain, providing shade and privacy, but unlike other curtains, also provide the best tasting tomato’s I’ve never bought in a store! This plant is going wild now, and i can count about 100 flowers on it, and you know that means!!!



Lovely Heirloom Tomato’s. Taste like Tomato’s Should!


There’s going to be a lot of salsa and tomato sauce happening this year. On the right is a Barbados cherry tree growing!


Was it smart to plant an avocado tree in the middle of the house? I'll let you know!




My baby planter, with coriander, beans, sunflowers




An ornamental tree, finally flowering after 4 years!




My most special medicinal plant, Aloe Vera, there are a few dotted around.





Do you know what this one is? A Goji Berry plant!

I grew this from seed, and have failed many times before. This time the soil is gorgeous and i keep a close eye on here.




The best thing about growing in your house is you can always keep an eye on things, and the wildlife also cant grab it! I LOVE living with my plants and trees!


@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **



The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp


 

Sort:  

Refreshing. Good oxygen. Cheers.

PLENTY of oxygen here yes! '+_

😂 shade and privacy lol looking good though

Lovely! How awesome to pick your fresh just inside your house. Such a cool scenery in the eyes.

thank you! yes isn't it nice.. next week i pick some tomato's i think!

Beautiful! I also have a need to surround myself with nature :) This is what I did in front of my house... :)
20180609_132848.jpg

oh yeah nice.. amazing what you can do with A bit of string!!!

nice alex! good to see some of the green growth within your earthship. how does the humidity regulate with the plants in there? do you find it stays at a pretty nice level? do you have clay plaster on your walls?

well there is no issue here because the space is SO big,, 32 feet tall ceiling.. and the climate is never humid outside also as we are in the mountains.. so its fresh lovely air all the time.. ;-) the final render is 80% sand, 10% cement with 10% soil.. all sealed with linseed.. so the walls never had an issue

cool thanks!!!

This is so beautiful. I love the abundance of plants in your home, so healthy on so many levels!

yes, just seeing them makes me feel happy ;-) its like a greenhouse or something!

It really is! I've always wanted a garden in the house. It is a bit of a challenge here but one day I'll figure it out.

wow avocado inside your house, that is really cool, There are 2 trees on the land I look after, I feel so blessed to have them, really great to see all the food you grow inside, I love to be surrounded by green xx

hehe,, well its nice right now. im not sure what will happen when avocados start dropping on my head! Might have to prune this girl! probably they are best outside really, im thinking to swap it out for Something with smaller fruits ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95