You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do you think there is so much hate and anger toward Vegans, and why are those who eat meat and dairy so threatened by the notion of giving it up?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I'm a weight loss coach and vegans are my toughest crowd. This has been true for the 8 years I've been doing this. My market is the morbidly obese and vegans are not to big of a piece of that for me, so I don't worry about them too much.

I run into "new" vegans, for the most part. These are usually obese people who decide they are going to change and therefore are going to "go vegan" to lose weight. After that they eat soy-laced "products" made to seem like meat in the grossest way possible.

Nothing I tell them about processed food and estrogen makes a bit if difference. Unless every once in a while I can get a reaction by mentioning man boobs to an obese going-vegan male.

Then these new people can't take it after a few weeks and go back to Dominos and McDonalds. I would prefer they gradually improve their diets and THEN go vegan if they want to from a place of better health.

I have also been attacked by vegans in a few weight loss forums over the years. They have come in packs to groups that are keto and paleo and start raving at us. Then the admins kick them out after they see what is happening.

I do not care what people eat as long as it is the least processed, organic, and "clean" food they can find. In my case, due to Rheumatoid arthritis, I rely on greens, organ meat, fish, and bone broth to stay as healthy and energized as I can. Vegans hate me for this so I avoid them as much as I can.

Sort:  

Thanks for that report. I don't know where you are from but I remember similar discussions when I followed some vegans on Instagram for a while. This veganism thing is a huge gift for food industry but nobody cares.
What else can you expect from people who have grown accustomed to processed food for decades? :(

I'm in Malaysia now, but most of my online connections are in the US. I think you are right about the food industry making bank. I see this with celiac people too. They find out that they need to avoid gluten. So what do they do? They start buying all kinds of expensive, chemical-laced "non-gluten" processed food!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83