You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To What Extent is Negative Media & Media Bias Responsible for Depression? Ecotrain Question of the Week

in #ecotrain6 years ago

A beautiful, open and insightful post. I can resonate with many of the points you touched upon. The comparing with others especially. Something I used to do a lot.
I remember the drug stores in Singapore would be lined with skin lightening products also and many of my friends would use sun umbrellas to keep their skin pale. It used to make me feel so sad that the traces of past colonialism had created that culture.
I do agree with you that the media biases can trigger a whole heap of feelings from anxiety to depression but I also agree that we have the choice to allow it to do that. Something that I feel isn't being conveyed to the younger generation though.
Thank you again for sharing this and thank you for your positive conclusion. One love ❤

Sort:  

Oh the incident you shared is comon here too. Not the using sun umbrellas one but generally ppl are crazy about having a fair skin and do not want to accept themselves as they are because of inferiority complexes. Thank you for such a lovely comment and feedback. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74