Ecotrain QOTW "Bearing in mind the health and state of our western culture and society today, do you think we have too much freedom?

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

My first @ecotrain Question of the Week

I believe that we are not evolved enough, not educated enough, to deal with the excesses and freedoms of Western society. We are not ready, and not well equipped to cope with them, causing a whole mess of crap like addiction, gluttony and greed. We are not creating balanced people. Generally speaking, people are not taught values that are conducive to good health and mental state.

People are trying to fill holes in their soul, which they don’t even realise they have. We try to fill these holes with material goods, with drugs, with food, with money. But, how can you fix something that you don’t know is broken? We end up wandering around blind, groping around in the dark. I know that I was for a significant period of my life.

I didn’t even realise I was so unhappy, before I came across meditation and Yoga. My mind was like a treadmill that I had never got off of. It just went round and round. When I started to have gaps in between the thoughts and the noise, it was incredible: what space! I didn’t think such space was even possible.

Ecotrain (1).jpg

We are not taught to look at our thoughts or our attitudes, as possible causes of the shitty way we feel. We look outside ourselves again, and blame a whole host of other things for our unhappiness. We blame our jobs, our spouses, our bodies for our unhappiness before we ever take a good look inside.

Mindfulness and meditation from an early age, in schools, I think could help tremendously. We could shift the focus in schools from taking and passing exams, to preparing young minds for the future, for adult life and that in entails, and nurturing their passions.

pexels-photo-207665.jpeg

People should always be free to fuck up their own lives (as long as it doesn’t harm anyone else), part of having freedom is being able to do that in your own spectacular fashion. We can only provide, along side that freedom, some education on how to live in this modern world.

QmQkm4PgVnActqYpMHDWZQuVv1rjsQ21MHX9cruoEtAeT4.jpg

logo3-3.jpg
Visit https://www.offgridyoga.com for more information about out off-grid Yoga retreat.

Sort:  

Damn, this is a really great post and its time we start looking at the inside and stop focusing soo much on the outside. I really enjoyed reading this

Mindfulness and meditation from an early age, in schools, I think could help tremendously. We could shift the focus in schools from taking and passing exams, to preparing young minds for the future, for adult life and that in entails, and nurturing their passions.

Its one of the things that i advocate for as a teacher and as a parent, i am opening up my children to a world of different things so that they can find their passion and i can assist them to nurture it.

Thanks so much for reading my post. I'm sure you're children will do wonderfully, the world needs more parents like this! All the best xxxx 💚xxxx

I love your insight into this! I'm glad you answered it.

People are trying to fill holes in their soul, which they don’t even realise they have. We try to fill these holes with material goods, with drugs, with food, with money. But, how can you fix something that you don’t know is broken?

Exactly because most of us simply go through life just following what everyone else is doing, never really understanding or questioning what is right for them. ❤❤❤❤

Thanks my dear! 💚😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55