You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If there is a God, why do so many bad things happen? @ecotrain Question Of The Week

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I enjoyed reading this to some extent. There are many points I'd be inclined to agree with, and a few I'd argue a different view. Your last sentence strikes me as one I would disagree: "We can avoid the majority of suffering in our lives through surrender or detachment, which is simply accepting the inevitability of there being good and bad, and experiencing them without needing or rejecting either."

Surrender to suffering can never be a Good thing, nor do I think suffering can be avoided. Like you said, there is good and bad. Assuming suffering is bad, it is implied to be a part of life, a part of 'karma'. And so I would argue that suffering cannot be avoided and can only be elevated with a head-on approach, and I daresay it's the engagement with suffering that breeds acceptance.

Sort:  

thanks for commenting lorvain!i understand what you say.. of course we should not invite or put up with suffering when it happens.. but with our thoughts we make many things much worse than they need to be.. through surrender we dont need to know why any more.. we can accept

It's entirely likely I've somehow misinterpreted your meaning when you suggest surrendering. And I would agree immensely with our thoughts making things worse than they often need be. I may need clarification, in truth.

Would you suggest that accepting suffering happens leads to peace with it?

Cheers in advance, mate!

ok, well.. surrender is one of those really hard to get things.. i dont think many people really understand it.. i think the way I would put it is that you can not really suffer if you are truly surrendered..

so i would say yes, accepting suffering happens is a part of it.. but we still do suffer even when we accept. .. although you can suffer less when you accept.. But.. i think It is only with True surrender though that suffering doesn't really even exist... but that truth is known only by people with incredible love and connection with God.. and who have truly transcended dualism..

these are, of course, my own opinions!

An interesting point you've made, I thank you for it.

I would ask what exactly you mean by surrender in that case. Acceptance of suffering is, of course, one thing, but I would argue that surrender to it seems a different thing entirely.

What is "True surrender?"

ok, now you ask i will point you to a very special post i wrote not so long ago.. I think i managed to explain it well there!

https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@eco-alex/the-path-to-enlightenment-part-7-of-9-detachment-equanimity-and-surrender

First and foremost, what you've provided is a beautiful piece of text. I am so far inclined to agree, to some extent, with a lot of what is touched upon. Especially, "When we attach too much importance to the results of our actions, we limit ourselves and also effect the nature and quality of our actions." Key part being too much. But that in and of itself is a powerful statement, and one I would argue true.

I do, however, have a bone to pick, so to say. A lot of what is translated to meaning stems from the presumption of God. That becomes a can of loose worms when considering the original question at hand: "If there is a God, why do so many bad things happen?"
In which case, I would ask what exactly is God?

Cheers for the consistent replies, @eco-alex. This discussion has given me plenty of food for thought and, in some sense, allowed the freedom to think.

Thank lorvain!
Your right this question assumes god exists to answer it! Im so. Sneeky ;) thank you for reading and great comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85