Sort:  

The alternatives would likely cost producers more, both in materials and work. But it sounds from the comments here that there are people working on it, and we didn't always have plastic or fridges. Maybe butcher an animal and distribute it to a lot of people instead of filling only one family's fridge with it? A smokehouse in every back yard? We may all have to go back to these ways someday.

definitely a fan of stainless over plastic from the fridges !! plastic is more of a disposable and that's a huge part of the problem. a good made in usa stainless steel lined fridge would last forever and id gladly pay more for it !!!

this was just a random pick from our freezer. we buy the calfs in spring and are lucky enough to have a friend with property to tend to them, butchered in October so its 8 months in the freezer now. fed all organic none of that hormone or steroid/antibiotic garbage feed pure free range and sweetened with oats and candy before butchering. was hoping for a nice Tbone but guess its sirloin for dinner tomorrow :)
also twice as tender and tasty as commercial meat so even a normally tough cut comes out amazingly tender !!
I had asked my butcher about the packaging the paper is lined with wax fully compostable/biodegradable if you want I can phone to ask for the supplier
IMG_1579.JPG

IMG_1580.JPG

Yes, the alternatives would cost more and often in more ways than one. I recently spoke to a company about the chances of changing their butter packaging to a plain paper one, rather than the paper/plastic/foil mix they use and they replied that they would have to change all their packing machinery in order to do that.

Posted using Partiko Android

that's 100% true we will always need some plastics. my family we always just avoided using single use that ends up in landfill. I still use recyclable bottles for storing grains/rice/sugar/salt or for ice blocks but yeah I guess its a matter of finding good alternatives for the wasteful parts of our lifestyles. im definitely not a fan of those damn paper straws I wish they would make them from biodegradable vegetable based rather than this paper garbage!!!

I'm not a fan of straws, personally, but I get that you need them with things like Boost and other take out cups and can see the issue with paper straws. Compostable plastics have come a long way, so you'd think the could make straws from them. Imagine a food court where all the rubbish could be put in one bin for composting.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've found a paper straw that is fine. Expensive, but works great. Straws were all paper when I was a kid. I've tried some compostable plastic-y ones and they break too easily. I need them for a bed bound person I care for or I just wouldn't ever have straws here at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86