Sort:  

I think if I ever get property and start planting in the ground, it'll be a different learning curve for me, lol. I'll have to deal with different pest problems (in an apartment it's fungus gnats and once a squirrel climbed onto the balcony and ate my cucumber plant - stalks and all, as it wasn't even fruiting yet). And if the water/food needs are different, I'll have to figure that out, too. 😂

Haha! The squirrel must have been so excited to find edible thing's growing on building edges! I think we get so many critters because we're the only ones growing much edible in our garden.

I read something on someone dealing with fungus gnats a while ago, but I'm struggling to remember what he did. I get the feeling it was adding something like diatomaceous earth. Anyway, it's interesting to hear a new trick of keeping the dampness below the surface layer.

That's probably true - we're the oasis in the city desert here! <3

Keeping the dampness below helps because they lay their eggs in the damp soil. If the top layer is dry - they don't!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88