My thoughts and ideas of the week...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

The past week has literally flown by. My friend in Holland had a translation job for me, and after I finished the first three translations, she added another two. It turned into a full-time job for this week, which is brilliant of course, because it will give me some time to breathe after this and maybe even some time 'off' to do other things, like writing some posts here.

The last few weeks I've thought a lot about what to write. There's so much going on in my head at the moment, and there are a huge number of ideas, but when I actually sit down to write, it's all scrambled. So today I thought to just write down whatever comes to mind. That way I might be able to get some stuff a bit clearer in my head and go from there.

imageedit_5_4452442724.jpg

Hypnosis...

Back in Holland, I was working as a translator and editor for about 11 years and a few more before that, living in Asia and the US. I always loved the job, because it gave me a lot of freedom, personal and financial. Then the financial crisis hit almost everywhere in 2008 and onwards, and the people I used to do work for before, used this as an excuse to not only pay less but also attract the 'wrong kind' of translators and editors. Suddenly there were people who would work for 1 cent or less per word, which boils down to $2,- an hour, before taxes, or less if you weren't very fast. I refused to work for this kind of pay, so I decided to only work for those who appreciated my work. These people ruined the business for a lot of people, but I always figured that the companies who hired these people would find out eventually that they were getting what they were paying for, and sure enough: they did. Meanwhile, I had some extra time on my hands, so I decided to start a course for something I had been wanting to do for a long, long time: hypnotherapy.
After I finished that, I went on to specialize in a few things, but it's a subject that never stops teaching. Every day you can learn something new. It's not an exact science and very often, a hypnotherapist's intuition is as important as his skills. I've seen this a few times.

Recently, I've had three people ask me to help them with some issues. Usually, I would need at least 3-5 sessions to really make a difference. However, somehow with these three, one session did the job! I'm not sure why, maybe it's the client's mind, or maybe it's my own confidence. I have no idea, but I am delighted, whatever the case is. This made me think that I might get back into it more, finally take the step to get accredited here in Ireland (which is quite the chore...) and do a bit more work than just my friends.
Then my next thought was: but, we want to travel...True. And that's still in the books, but needs a lot of planning.
I've learned through the years that while one plan yet has to be carried out, it shouldn't prevent me from doing something else too. If I let those plans take over all of my life, then, in the end, nothing (else) gets done and that's just a waste of valuable time.

Somehow, while I was thinking of these things, 'stuff' all around me made me aware again of hypnosis happening on a daily basis. Which brought me to this: I've always been a truth seeker, and with me: what you see is what you get. I have no hidden agendas (other than that I plan to become filthy rich together with the rest of you, sue me!) and I like to keep things as real as possible in this short life we have. Here in Ireland, a small (silent) revolution has started with first our own yellow jackets coming into action and, more recently, the nurses and midwives on strike. However, if you talk to the people here in person, they still give you that look...The majority is just still not quite aware of how things work in the real world, they live in fantasy land and they still believe most of what the media tells them.
So I decided to write about how hypnosis and NLP works. And how to spot it in your daily life, and most of all: how it's used to manipulate people into believing the things they believe. It will probably be a series because there are a lot of things to discuss and it may prove not to be as easy either. What do you think?
We'll see...

Thank you for reading!



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

Hello, mother, I don't know what any of this means!!

That's ok hun. :)

hahahahaha
I'm sorry, I laughed so loud the kids wanted to know what was going on
I heart this so much :)

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I read that hypnotherapy can be very useful in treating victims of child abuse, so I guess if you specialize in this field you would have a lot of clients in Ireland, courtesy of the Catholic church.
Or is that only my anti-Catholic, Protestant upbringing in the former realm of Wilhelm von Oranien shining through?
I can still remember how my father was ranting against the idea of a representative of God on earth when I was a child.
His hero was definitely Luther and not the pope. 😄

Yes, hypnotherapy can definitely be very useful in treating victims of (child) abuse. I specialized in regression and trauma treatment, so yeah I would have a lot of clients here. The only problem is that a lot of the victims here haven't even come forward yet, let alone that they would walk into some strangers office to get treatment. There was a lot of shaming going on while that abuse happened, plus a lot of the victims were boys...that's even harder because most of them would never admit they have a problem.

I probably mentioned this before, but the first part of my youth, I grew up in Germany. Our part of the country was dominantly Catholic. However, there were a few Protestants in my class and even more in the area. I've never experienced the Catholic church in a bad way then. I can't recall them 'pushing' it on anyone, and I've never seen any different treatment of Protestants. It was a shock for me when later I learned of all the nasty things that happened in Ireland, and the hate between the two religions (which was undoubtedly fuelled by propaganda, because before the 'troubles' everyone just got along).
But after we returned to Holland, when I was 12, I've seen the nonsense in the church and I agree with your father: the pope absolutely sucks. There shouldn't be any religious leader like him and if you ask me, he has way too much power in the world. But Luther? Hmmmm, I can't say I feel much more for him either. Just the fact that he felt women were second class citizens and everything else that came out of his mouth about women made me sick.

Yes, Luther was anti-women, hated the jews and wrote pamphletes against the peasant uprisings, but he also reformed Christianity and gave people an alternative to Catholic dogma.
In 2017 Germany celebrated the Luther Year, 500 years of Reformation, and there were a lot of critical articles and discussions about Luther, so people could see both sides of him, the light and the shadow.
And let´s not forget, in a way and in the context of his times he was a rebel, risking his life for his beliefs and I certainly like that.

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.602 which ranks you at #1756 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Maybe there's something in the air
I find so many things in my head
So much to be done
But everything's all over the place, melting into each other

That's like a kicker... the planning but still living
I have a tendency to put a lot of things on hold trying to accommodate the plans... but you are absolutely right ....

I have read some on NLP and even went for a workshop where I volunteered to try it out with another participant that I didn't know from Adam
And it was pretty amazing :D

Yes it is pretty amazing. However, as with everything, it can be used for good, but also for bad. And bad people with that kind of 'power' is not a great thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85