QTOW -Share a story about life challenge by @ecotrain (YOU CAN SURVIVE)

in #ecotrain5 years ago

fist424500_1280.jpg
pixabay

We are here again for another interesting question by @ecotrain. I can relate in this question because I grew up in poverty. My father is a farmer and a fisherman. My mother is a housewife and sometimes she wash clothes for other people to earn money. They also have a job both, washing a provincial busses. Life was hard that time especially when we were still young, my brother's and sister's. Even in the hardship in life we the 11 siblings finished in highschool.

I was 16 year's old that time when I graduated in highschool. I want to study in college but I have two older sister's who currently studying. My parents couldn't let us study at the same time because of financial issues. They promised that after they'll be finished, I'll be studying next. You know in the Philippines it's hard to find job if you're not finish studying college. Especially when you live in provinces. Instead of not going to work my parents sent me to Mindanao, far from our hometown. My mother lives there and she has 2 hectares land, with coconut tree and fruits. When I arrived there I have no idea what to do. The life style was different than what I used to live.

I worked in land like cutting grass, removing grass so that I could plant corn and vegetables. That was the way how to earn money in the mountain. But while waiting for the plant to grow I accepted the labor job. Cutting grass and removing it, you know when you're being hard the work was different. Not like when you do this in your land that you're obliged to keep on working for the whole day. Sometimes I cried because I found it very hard. It feel's so tired doing like that, back hurts and hand hurts because of the materials you used.

After working for the whole day I need to cook for myself. I lived alone so that's what you expect. I wasn't that good at first time and I found it very hard. I never ask questions but I just observed those who were good in working. Although I made friends there I didn't ask for help because I want to learn this kind of work in my own way. As time passed by I managed to handle it. No more tears fall for the hardship of work. I just accepted the kind of life when I was there.

But not all the time someone will hire you to work for their own land in cleaning. I didn't earn money because of it. The plants wasn't ready to harvest yet and the coconut tree was not ready to sell it's fruit. So that time I asked one of my friends there how to make charcoal using a coconut shell. No one was there to do it, they just teach me they don't watch me. At first it was failed because the coconut shel was burned into dust and no charcoal left. My 3 day's of collecting coconut shell was wasted. I need to find coconut shell again to make charcoal.

The second time I did it right but still my eye's became teary. My body was covered with dirt and black because of charcoal. But instead of crying I just smiled and said, "what a life." I managed to live in that place for two year's and learned many things. I went home with a little money. I went home because my older sister's were finished studying so I guess it will be my time to study.

I may have experienced that kind of life, I'm still thankful that I learned many things. So if someone think's their life is so hard, then I'll ask them. How about our life working in the mountain with no assurance that can earn a penny.

Ooooppps I got emotional. lol
Thank you for reading..

Sort:  

Dong I share mo Kay @otom may bagong post.

Posted using Partiko Android

So much respect for your tenacity and hard work, but EVEN MORE respect for your wonderful parents who keep doing that hard job, year after year, so as many of you as possible can study. I hope when you are finished studying and earning more, that YOU take care of them like royalty in their old age. Amazing story - thank you so much for sharing.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

thank you for dropping by, actually it happened long ago and I'm finished studying now. Now it's time to find job but can't rush things because as always money is an obstacle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Understand. :) Still, when you can, please do nice for them in small ways - small comforts and things that make their lives easier. You won't know till you are older just how hard to raise and educate 1 child, let alone 11!! They sound like amazing parents. You are lucky.

yeah they are.. thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Great that you could buckle down and get into that type of work applying yourself and making a go of it instead of just feeling sorry for yourself! I bet you have a terrific work ethic because of it too! Thanks for sharing your story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99