What's your temperament? - EcoTrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

What's your Temperament? - EcoTrain QOTW, after a very long time a question has come up from @eco-alex, and an interesting one.

We all have different temperaments. I have heard people saying I cannot change my temper or my ways, I am born with it and I cannot do anything about it. But I personally believe from my own experiences of life that our temperaments keep changing with the experiences of life automatically. Our surroundings decide our temperament. Though it can be in our control but partially or to a large extent I can say it is also dependent on our surroundings.

When I was a Teenager


When I was a teenager, I was a very timid child, due to all the family circumstances, I had become a very introvert person. and I was always very scared to speak up. I would cry out on the smallest of things. Till I was around 20 I was like this. I was always very scared, shy of speaking up and absolutely no confidence. I had a super inferiority complex. I would say yes to everything, today when I look back I feel how people were taking advantage of this. I would want to say many things but never had the courage fearing how the opposite person would react. Though my dad used to push me to speak up many times. He would tell me, if I will be so soft this world will eat me up. And I could also see that myself, that people would take advantage of my quietness and soft nature. As children our personality develops from the guidance of our parents and our home environment, I had neither of it. It was extremely difficult for me to speak up. I never felt that security and comfort, so I was all the time in my shell. I had too much of fear about everything.


Source

In my 20s and mid 30s


In this period I got married, and I feel blessed to have a very supporting husband. He was always very encouraging and used to motivate me to become strong and speak up for myself. Then my job also helped me a lot. I had a lot of travelling in my job and as I started exploring the world I also started exploring myself and opening up, breaking the barriers that I had. But everything was not going in the right direction. As much as I was timid and scared type I started getting exactly opposite. Then I observed that I used to start losing out on patience, blowing off on small matters. Getting angry on small matters. It was like everything that was pent up for so many years was coming out. A little bit of pride also started seeping in which was not on the good scale. I used to realize this and wanted to bring in a balance. This phase was too much unbalanced. I would see at times I would be very fearless and then again there were times when I would get into my shell. I wanted to be nice and humble and at the same time I would get angry over small matters and be extra rude to people.

Journey after Mid 30s


I realized there was a lot of drama always around me and my reaction was very strong to all of it. There were times when I used to get extremely angry and keep blowing up on every small thing, or there would be times when I would just cry and cry for hours over petty matters. Mentally I was feeling exhausted with this extreme mood swings and I wanted help. That was the time then I turned to Yoga and Meditation and that helped me a lot in balancing my extreme emotions, moods and temper.
As time passed and I got more involved in spiritual groups I felt more and more calmer and felt I really do not have to keep reacting to every situation. The balance that I was looking out in my temperament started getting visible to me. I started getting detached from a lot of things including relations. I had many toxic people around me who were draining me out. I was able to start dealing with them neutrally. The extremity of anger, fear and all other emotions started getting dissolved.


Source

As of today


I feel it has been a very long journey for me to reach where I am today. A balanced person taking each day as it comes, not much of reaction to anything. Over a period of time I also see that I have become a loner and I feel it is good for me to be in my own space and mind my own business not getting too much into anyone's space or allowing other's to get into my space. I do not like to talk much all the time. I like quietness around me, I am calm most of the times and in control. I do enjoy being with friends and family but just to a point, I would like to be left alone most of the time in my space. I still do have some limitations that I need to overcome. I get quiet when in a group, somewhere my confidence gets a little shaken up, then there are times when I still get a little hyper over certain things like if someone behaves messy at my place. Living alone for sometime, I have kind of become very particular about lot of things like cleanliness and orderliness at home, and when people behave shabby at my place then I feel a little irritated but I try not to explode and stay as calm as possible. Other thing I cannot stand is wastage of food. When people do that I feel very agitated with them. I have stopped reacting to the people but it keeps running on my mind. These are some of the flaws I still need to overcome and get control over it. Overall this journey has made me a very optimistic person from a total pessimist.

That's how I have evolved and I believe almost everyone goes through this journey with a period of time. When I look back I could see the progression and slippages time to time based on my surroundings.I am completely a different person today then what I used to be even 10 years back, At some point of time in life you feel it is just more then enough and you want to get quiet and still as much as possible.

Thank you @eco-alex for bringing this up as a question and allowing me to express. When I started writing this I could feel a lot of emotions surfacing up from the past and I am sure many will feel the same with this reflection.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

bloggif_5c17c7088f8ae.gif

GIF Courtesy @enginewitty 😍😍

My other blogs of Interest


"February # Dedicated to Health # Health Series - 4 # Importance of Folic Acid in the Body"
"A midweek break to the Millennium Resort 💃🏖🌞."
"February # Dedicated to Health # Health Series - 3 # Avoid Stress; Live Physically and Mentally Healthy"
"Helping Children Develop Critical Thinking"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

VOTE ENGINEWITTY FOR YOUR WITNESS


Enginewitty_1.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this, @nainaztengra. It is nice to gain a deep insight into someone's personality, and piece together why someone might have this or that characteristic. You can certainly see the pendulum swings in your case, going from completely enclosed, keeping everything to yourself, to outgoing of the point where your emotions get released in such an explosive way. Great to hear that you are managing to find the balancing point with yoga and meditation.

That's true, it gave me a good roller coaster ride in between but thankfully now its gained it's momentum in the right direction

Good to know you 👌 and good you reminded me of writing as well...I believe it is all upto our surrounding that influence your surrounding...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahha, will await to read your post. I hope you make it soon 😊

Hopefully.....😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Very well written @nainaztengra
It is great to know you are working on personality development and I also believe spirituality is the best way

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @moghul. Yes Spirituality if followed can really create wonders in life, but in today's time sad part is people keep forwarding messages on spirituality but when it comes to implementation they are far away from it.

That’s true
Forwarded messages can be completely ignored .
Its the practice that we need to allocate time for

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just like your temperament and overall personality, your writing too is evolving everyday. Honestly, it was a very interesting read.

Thank you for that compliment.

Your story reminds me of my own...Except for being shy.. more that I had such wild swings of temperament, and yoga helped balance me. Thanks so much for sharing this personal journey. Xxxx

Posted using Partiko Android

With age we get wisdom I believe 😃

You got a 30.35% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I have a low temperament and I do attribute it to my condition because my heart reacts with very stressor out there and it then affects my temperament but sometimes I just keep it to myself because I could not express myself fully most of the time especially now @nainaztengra.

I can understand your situation my friend. It is not easy to keep going every day with the condition you have, but you are a very strong person and I really have a lot of respect for that.

Yes Thank you @nainaztengra
I regret the days that I had a bad temperament though, many things done by me with a hot head but it is due to my brewing condition in those years which I have no control of.

It's a super difficult thing to manage that temperament! I have a lot of the same enoyances from how people do things but learning to change that has been hard for sure.

Excellent post on the subject. It seems a lot of us have that "blowing up" side. It nearly got me in a couple really bad places so I had to control it 😁.

Thank you for sharing with us.

thank you so much for sharing so nicely, i can really feel you and relate so SO MUCH of what you say..you have come so far, with nurture and being around the Right people! xxx <3

I have always been very quiet and isolated, it really began as I grew up mostly alone on a farm - no friends nearby so out of School there was only my own company - no brothers or sisters. I have learned to push beyond that as I have grown and aged, but to be honest I am by far the happiest on my own - working individually on something whatever it may be.

I won't ever develop to the stage of a "people person" though, it's not in my natural instinct - I can force myself to engage with other people - but it's awkward and I'm really not very good at it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87