You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Celebrating Healing Plants - Issue # 4 - Fireweed (Epilobium Angustifolium)

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Thanks for posting this. I just bought 5000 Fireweed seeds to plant next spring. I want to try making tea and my bees are looking forward to the flowers.

We also bought Hyssop and Phacelia. If they all come up our garden will be beautiful next year.

Sort:  

We have the fireweed and hyssop growing wild and quite plentiful. I'm sure your bees will love them and you will love the honey! Where abouts do you live? If you lived in Canada I could have sent you some seeds free.

I'm in central Virginia. Fireweed is not naturalized here. I don't know if it will be hard to grow.

Posted using Partiko Android

You may want to give the seeds a cold treatment to get them to germinate. It's recommended to mix the seed with moist sand and store it in the refrigerator for 60-90 days before planting. they also need light to germinate so you just press them on top of the soil. I would make sure to gather some seeds in the fall too to make sure you have some if they do not germinate naturally for you there in Virginia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84