"Don't Keep History a Mystery" Reconciliation Week & Ecotrain's QOTW 'What Small Change can We Make to Change the World?' steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


2.-about.jpg
National Reconcilation Week Australia

When we were growing up, Aboriginal history was not taught in schools. There was only the story of the primitive tribe of people looking threatening with spears as Cook landed with black boots at Botany Bay, supposed founder of the new world and the beginning of White Australia.


It was books, at first, that began to turn the focus rings on the understandascope.


Down here in Victoria, we didn't know much about 'them' and nor were we given opportunity to, until Year 12 when we read Sally Morgan's 'My Place', the story of a indigenous woman who didn't even know her true identity until she was 15. The autobiography confronts us to assess the past and whether the true stories of Aboriginal histories have been told in this country. The book was released in 1987 and ended up in school curriculums, opening our eyes to the experiences of the First People in the land we called home.




These days, it's mandated that Year 12's study at least one Australian text, but I do wish they'd mandate studying more Aboriginal texts. Through books, films and stories, we start to see the similarities between us and 'others' rather than differences. Black Diggers, Mabo and One Night The Moon are three texts about indigenous experience that have been on our VCE curriculum, but it's often the first time students really encounter Aboriginal stories and it comes as a shock to them.

I remember one boy refusing to believe that Australia had massacred so many people in the past. It just didn't fit with his version of history. He ended up incredibly moved by it and wrote a creative piece exploring the research he undertook of his own accord. I believe he had a heightened sense of empathy because of it. His understandascope had made a blurry, indistinct history sharp and poignant, and I imagine it would affect his relationships with every single Aboriginal person he met.

If you'd like to understand a little more about Indigenous experience here, try watching this. I dare you not to cry. Grant gained legitimacy in White Australia as a TV reporter and presenter, and it wasn't til later in life that he truly embraced his culture and now advocates strongly for it. I find it devastating that legitimacy is only gained in ways that white Australia approves of: 'he's alright, for an Aboriginal' - but that's for another discussion.

Here is an exerpt from this speech, but I really hope you watch it:

The Australian Dream.We sing of it, and we recite it in verse. Australians all, let us rejoice for we are young and free. My people die young in this country. We die ten years younger than average Australians and we are far from free. We are fewer than three percent of the Australian population and yet we are 25 percent, a quarter of those Australians locked up in our prisons and if you are a juvenile, it is worse, it is 50 percent. An Indigenous child is more likely to be locked up in prison than they are to finish high school.I love a sunburned country, a land of sweeping plains, of rugged mountain ranges.It reminds me that my people were killed on those plains. We were shot on those plains, disease ravaged us on those plains. I come from those plains. I come from a people west of the Blue Mountains, the Wiradjuri people, where in the 1820's, the soldiers and settlers waged a war of extermination against my people. Yes, a war of extermination! That was the language used at the time. Go to the Sydney Gazette and look it up and read about it. Martial law was declared and my people could be shot on sight. Those rugged mountain ranges, my people, women and children were herded over those ranges to their deaths.The Australian Dream.
You Can Read the Transcript Here

It's stories like this that have been swept under the proverbial rug of Australia's history for far too long.


Thus, Ecotrain's question of the week is timely for Australians as we consider Reconciliation Week in this country:

"Name one small change you have made or could make to your life that would be of great benefit to the world if everyone did the same"


By always working toward real understanding, we can change the world dramatically.

By understanding the multitudinous stories that make up Australia (and indeed the world, especially as many rally against asylum seekers with little understanding of why they're seeking refuge in this country in the first place) we can create a world based on sameness, rather than difference. We connect through empathy, rather than dehumanising people who appear 'different' because we have been told a lie about who they really are, where they've come from, where they really belong.

Sally Morgan's book was the beginning of the idea of understanding, for me. You can't really know a people until you are well informed and this information can't come from speculation, media demonisation, anecdotes about criminality and alcoholism, politicising them as the 'other', terrible stereotypes that demean them as second class citizens.

These single stories, I'm ashamed to say, made up my whole view of Aboriginal Australia. Even reading one story - Morgans - wasn't enough. Yet learning about and talking about these stories can change Australia just as it can the world - Australia's treatment of Aboriginal people is not unique to our country, after all.

The following ad for Reconciliation Week asks us to talk about the past so that we can move forward to a stronger future together. I was really moved this week when the school I work at had an assembly with Aboriginal people from the Wathuraroung speaking about what this would mean to them, as well as stories about their ordinary, and not so ordinary lives. It was an assembly of inclusivity that just wasn't part of my experience as a student in the 1980's.

We invite and welcome indigenous kids into our school on scholarships, which goes a long way toward bridging culture. I teach L., who's from Arnhem Land. He got up on that stage and told his story and I don't think any of the teachers had dry eyes. L. got up and sung a dual language song about his elders as he played the guitar with a group of other students on bass, keyboard and drums. It brought the house down.

The school offers a trip to Central Australia for Year 10's, and I wish it was compulsory for all of them, because many come back with their eyes truly opened, understanding so much more about what it means to be Aboriginal - far more than what I knew as a kid.

The following advertisement for this year's theme of 'Don't keep History a Mystery' asks us all to understand the fact that we're all in this together. It asks Australians to consider who we are and what we want to be, to fill in the missing stories in the histories of this country. It begs that all our stories are told and celebrated so we're stronger together, all woven tightly into a fabric of a united country.

Our history, our story, our future. It's not just a message for Australia, but for the world.

If we all can make that small change individually, together we make a huge difference. We must be willing to listen, acknowledge, talk about and understand others rather than judge on the tattered threads of a past we really know nothing about.

If the goals of reconcilation are truly reached, that's how we change the world.


small river circle.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

I'm also totally honoured to be a passenger on the #ecotrain - check out this hashtag for some pretty amazing posts permaculture to meditation, environmental issues to food forests - I highly recommend checking out this tag as you're guaranteed of sweeeetness!



ecotrain.png

Plus, I'm super excited and honoured to be part of @tribesteemup - a heap of amazing crew who all post quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place. You should definitely check out the #tribesteemup trail to find some quality writing.

Sort:  

stirring piece dear. I got chills from that quote from the first video (didn’t watch it yet with the shoddy internet due to thunderstorms). I have heard a bit about this yet it is always so devastating to my heart when I hear it again. So so sad. So much wisdom and true earth dwelling connected people “shot on sight”... crime! Swept under the rug. I’m so glad you wrote this post- to get it out there more. Excellent excellent post. Your solution reminds me of this image my friend shared earlier on Instagram:

E0EFF0A3-6A34-45A1-B422-417405FD6ED6.jpeg

Such a great mural.

Do try to watch the Grant video after the storm. It's So beautiful and well done. He's a clever man and well respected here.

The devastation that has been done to Aboriginal people is so shameful to this country. But what's worse is pretending it didn't happen or wankers saying political correctness has gone too far and that such education in schools threatens the status quo. Or that they should stop getting 'hand outs' or they should 'get over It' or... a woman on morning TV saying kids in troubled Aboriginal families should be put up for adoption AFTER ALL THE BRUTALITY OF THE STOLEN GENERATION.

But I believe we are progressing. I just wish it could happen sooner.

Thanks for commenting.

Im glad we have progressed enough to have campaigns like this one

We, brazilians, can relate sooooooo much.

It's not taught in our school the history of the original people from this land. The kids learn about the "Bandeirantes" (who hunted indians) and the "Jesuitas" who wanted to convert indians to catholicism. Besides that, the kids celebrate the "indian day", where they come back from school decorated with feathers.

Do they even know what they are celebrating? Do they really have something to celebrate?

I'm afraid they don't.. as we still turn our backs to the indians, who mostly live in cities' periphery.

One of day I'll post a travel story in Patagonia, that involves a sad sad sad story about the indians of that region.

Indian Day!!! That's horrendous!!!! Makes Australia actually sound good!! Thank god we are progressing beyond that.

I do think attitudes can change through campaigns for greater understanding .. sounds like Brazil needs one too.

Did you watch Grants video?

Yeahhh it is that terrible! The kids celebrate something that they don't even understand!

I didn't watch yet, but I'll do and report back here or on Discord.

@riverflows thank you for this it is great work you are doing we need great allys like yourself to help push change!

Thankyou!! Xx

When I worked as a diving instructor in Cairns in 1997, I met the nicest Australian guys, but whenever the conversation turned to the Abos, they had no nice things to say about them. For them they were all lazy alcoholics on welfare.

By the way,
you get more SP if you use 50%/50% reward instead of 100% power up.
1,343 times more, to be exact, if I put your current rewards into my calculator.

I must have accudentally clicked it over as i usually do 50/50.

Thats appalling. ABOS is a really deragatory term. They clearly had their single story. I hate attitudes like that.

Yeah, lots of prejudice, but that was 20 years ago, I guess it´s gotten better now.

You'd be suprised!!! Hence the campaigns.

@likedeeler Incredible how the same thinking applies for Brazil.
Many people think that indians are alcoholics and lazy and that they want their land back just to sell afterward, it's really sad.

Oh that first Video By Stan Grant, I am so happy to hear him talk about his history , you could tell some were a bit uncomfortable in the audience and in disbelief almost, how horrific it is and there is so much more as well that happened,that video is amazing and yes it made me cry. This is such an important issue to talk about. I have written in the past on here about my time in Australia and the racism I saw, I did an anti Australia Day post as well. I found it really difficult living in Australia at times because of how the natives are treated, I did get involve in some awareness projects like Stand up for the Burrup and lots of protests. Thank you so much for writing this post, I really hope all these projects make a difference, we have so much to learn from the aboriginal way of life xx

That video made quite an impact here. I always show it in class. He is such an articulate and passionate man. I do believe the tide is turning but theres a lot of work to be done and alot of shame and prejudice still. Its so good you got involved here. Its such a beautiful rich culture and so connected to the earth, country. We can learn so much from each other as long as we seek to understand. X thanks for commenting xx

Powerful stuff! I remeber visiting ozzie land and feeling quite embarresed to be british whilst listening to a history lesson on a tour! Xx

Oh I feel embarrassed and ashamed and I was born here. I think thats why, for so many years, its not been talked about. Jamies English though, and he just likes to think you lot own us haha 😉

This is a really beautiful write up. It is disgraceful how the empires of all ages took from indigenous people all over the world and forced their views and way of life on them. Even more so that history favors the victors. We now live in a time where we are waking up to that and need to start learning to find ways to respect and honor one another. We can't change the past, but we can certainly learn from it and allow it to help us make better decisions for the future. <3

Thank you for this wonderful post. I have tears in my eyes and a knot in my tummy even though it isn't new to me that Australia's first people have been treated with gross injustice and disrespect. I live in Cairns and work alongside Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who have many stories to tell, and the statistics tell their own sad stories. Progress to close the gap is slow (e.g. in health) and our indigenous people are still discriminated against on a daily basis. It's heartbreaking and maddening. I do hope that posts like yours will educate and open many people's eyes, and make more people think about and start fighting for social justice. I think this platform is great to spread the truly important messages to a wide range of people.

Thanks so much for your lovely comment. It always makes me cry too. I just can't understand it. In this day and age!!! You'd think we'd progress. I'm sure we are, but progress is slow and there's so much damage been done. Big love xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62