☕ Giving Up Coffee: AAAAH!!! - Consoling @riverflows with a Yummy Body Scrub ☕

in #ecotrain6 years ago

image.png

Look, it's not the end of the world. There are other drinks, right? Right?

“Without my morning coffee I’m just like a dried up piece of roast goat.” - Johann Sebastian Bach



I love coffee - the smell, the taste, the buzz it gives me. I love the subtleties of different roasts, it's seemingly exotic origins. It kick starts my lungs in the morning - being asthmatic, I sometimes need all the help I can get.

However, it doesn't do my adrenal glands any good. I survive for a few weeks, maybe even a month, and then I get the jitters - the clenched jaw, the heart palpitations, the dreaded feeling of anxiety. My liver starts to underfunction and my adrenals work double time to keep up, and I have to go on a coffee detox to reset myself. Why I keep coming back to it, I don't know. It's both my ally and my nemesis. It's a drug alright - I get jittery and nervous, euphoric, sociable.

Rumi said:

'When the black spirits pour inside us,
then the spirit of God and Air
All all tht is wondrous within
Moves us through the night, never ending'



And so coffee moves me through my days. Don't tell me about herbal and chocolate alternatives - it's coffee that's wooed me. I'm not a Voltaire-50-cups a day addict, using my lover's back as a writing desk, but I'm far more articulate and quick thinking with caffeine wiring my brain.

“Coffee is a lot more than just a drink; it’s something happening. Not as in hip, but like an event, a place to be, but not like a location, but like somewhere within yourself. It gives you time, but not actual hours or minutes, but a chance to be, like be yourself, and have a second cup.” - Gertrude Stein


I hear you Gertie. How can I be myself without a coffee? How do I find that somewhere within myself?

Perhaps all I do to cheer myself up, so bereft of coffee am I, is to scrub myself with it. Apparently caffeine is great for cellulite. I can't attest to that as yet but it smells divine and I'm so smooooothhh afterwards, if not really awake.

Some other benefits of this scrub, allegedly:

  • Caffeine increases blood flow, so can maybe reduce cellulite and give your skin a more even tone
  • Coconut oil is a fab skin softener - no more dry skin for you. Awesome for dry feet, by the way!
  • Gives you a more youthful complexion as it's meant to keep connective tissues strong, plus it's an antioxidant, so makes you younger anyway :)
  • Sugar contains an alpha hyrdoxy acid (glycolic) that's important for healthy skin and can protect it from harsh toxins as well as condition and moisturize

I don't know all about that - I just like the smell to comfort me whilst I'm crying about not having a cuppa. I used a bag of coffee that was going to go stale if I didn't drink it - I've heard tell people use used coffee grounds for this, so if you work in a cafe, it's going to be even cheaper to make.

Coffee Body Scrub

20 drops lavender essential oil
16 drops 10-fold orange essential oil
8 drops patchouli essential oil
.5 cup rough ground coffee
1 cup coconut oil
1 cup of sugar

Now, please don't worry about the measurements here. In fact, I just kinda made those up - they're approximate. What you want is enough melted coconut oil to half fill the jar of your choice.

Then, add enough coffee and sugar to make a medium thick paste - it'll be a bit runny until the coconut oil sets (and I imagine if you're in a hot country, it might NOT - so perhaps add more coffee and sugar so it's easier to handle and scrub a dub dub) - and essential oils of your fancy. The above proportions worked for me, but don't stress over it - as long as it smells good and you can scrub away then you've made a kick ass divine smelling coffee scrub that moisturizes and exfoliates and smells AMAZING.


20180607_113339.jpg

Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee? - Albert Camus

Are you a coffee addict, or would you rather rub yourself smooth with it?
What's your favourite natural body scrub?
Please do comment below - it's the interactions with you all that make Steemit a wonderful place to hang out, even if I can't ingest caffeine whilst doing so.. sad face emoji... xx


B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif




ecotrain.png

Want to find more quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place? Check out the #ecotrain and #tribesteemup trails, and consider adding them to your autovoting. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

Coffeeeeeeeeeeeeee, gimme gimme! I can't live without coffee, a sip before cycling a mub before giving classes. Don't touch my coffee.

Then the kids laugh because I'm all energetic in class, at least they have some fun and we keep a nice flow instead of them dying of boredom.

Giving up coffee?? NOOOOO!!! Just be moderate with it. Your body still absorbs the caffeine via the body scrub, btw. :) Coffee scrubs are GREAT for detox cos they cause vascular constriction - a nice temporary treatment for cellulite. I like mine with essential oils of cinnamon and orange. My fav body scrub? I make one with Thai red rice, salt and herbs. :)

Moderation is NOT my strong point. That's good news... I can scrub and get a buzz too!!! It doesnt seem to deplete me in the way drinking it does. At the moment even one cup is too much for me. Oooh... that scrub seems nice. What herbs do you use? Cinnamon... Oooh... I'm going to try that combo!!!

Oooh... actually a chai sounds nice right now...lots of cinnamon... it's cold here and that will do the trick!!

I have one cup a day in the morning and it sorts me right out! Amazing stuff. Have you tried bulletproof coffee? Turbo charged coffee for optimum brain power.

I made a coffee grounds eye serum once, it was pretty powerful stuff. I'm sure it has lots more uses for the skin. Thanks for sharing this one I'll have to give it a try! Xxx

I do love a morning coffee! I'm sure my detox won't last longer than a few days haha. I'm not keen on bulletproof - I just don't like the taste! A nice bit of coconut milk in my coffee and I'm good. Eye serum?? Wow, what was that for!! How interesting! It's so yummy, @startreat - the smell is gorgeous and I've gifted it to loved ones before and they really loved it. xx

Eye serum is for bags and dark circles!

In my case I don't drink coffee too much, sometimes I think I should do it to recharge my energy when I am feeling tired, but always decide not to.

It's probably better to charge yourself with nuts or a sustained release food... you end up on a more even keel that way!

I'm with @artemislives. I remember once a few years ago I went without coffee for about 3 days. I think perhaps I have a problem haha. Anyway kudos to you for giving it up. My eldest loves coffee scrubs too. She once raided my fresh ground stash and made her own with coconut oil. Amazing stuff which I sometimes think gets a bad rap. Lovely post I really enjoyed reading this and the comments too. 💖

Aw thankyou. I can't believe I only discovered it this year. I think I'm figuring out why I can't handle coffee at this time of year. I dont think I can quit for too long eek!! xxx I do believe coffee is a medicine!!

Addict here! First cup of coffee in the morning is the best ☕

But don't feel anything for a scrub. What are the benefits?. Just feels like wasting my precious...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95