On Beauty, and Why Gardening isn't Always Just Utility.

in #ecotrain6 years ago

“On a day
when the wind is perfect,
the sail just needs to open and the world is full of beauty.
Today is such a
day.”
― Rumi

Gardening for me always seems to be a balance between utility and beauty. We always wanted to grow as much food as we could to supplement our diets, so the vegetable garden is indeed central to our place - I can literally walk out the back door straight into the vegetable patch and collect herbs and vegies for dinner, and even rhubarb for winter soups. It's functional - the path up the middle is made of pavers so I can walk out in socks if I choose, and find my way to the compost heap without getting my ugg boots muddy. The worms there eat our scraps, the chicken manure gets layered between straw and garden waste, and the compost goes back into the garden. Pure utility. I love it. It's a system that works and provides for us.


Banksia Integriflora: Coastal Banksia

Yet if gardening was merely function for me, I wouldn't enjoy it half as much. Our garden is far more than just this. Many of the plants we grow aren't food for us at all, but food for the bees and birds, which in turn bring much to our garden. It wouldn't function as well without it, although I could do without the parrots stealing my nectarines and plums, and the magpies eating my strawberries. But even if the insects and avian life weren't tempted by the grevilleas and banksias and kangaroo paws and other flowering plants in our garden, we'd still grow them because they are aesthetically divine. Australian natives are vastly different from the beautiful flowering plants I'm seeing celebrated in the northern hemisphere. If it's those flowers that tickle your fancy, please do read @sagescrub's gorgeous post on why they grow flowers in their garden - it's totally beautiful! She writes:

One of the most enjoyable activities I do every morning and evening is to stroll into the garden, clippers in hand, and arrange my own bouquet of flowers. Our home is constantly filled with flowers and they bring joy to everyone who come visit us. Just this alone is reason enough for me to grow flowers.


And ain't that the truth - flowers bring us pure joy.From the South African leucodendron (one for you, @buckaroo - I knew there was another thing!) that flowers here pretty much all year around to the seed pods left over from flowering banksia to the splashes of red and purple of various grevilleas and the bright yellow calendula (which grows here all winter, little splashes of sunshine) both the birds, the bees and me get a lot of joy from these beautiful plants. This weekend I planted ten more in gaps in the garden, feeling the excitement of the future where my efforts would burst into bloom. The ground recieves the plant, and nurtures it, and loves it until it bursts forth to delight us. But we've got to plant it and nurture the ground back, lest we're left bereft, with deserts and wasteland.

“The ground's generosity takes in our compost and grows beauty! Try to be more like the ground.”

― Rumi




Yet it's more than this. We're yet to get into Spring here in Australia, and there's still an aesthetic beauty in our garden that I find harmonious and balancing. It's this harmony we have created in our garden that is capable of transporting me to a different mind set, a kind of distraction which makes me forget the shackles of life. It's an expanded awareness that pulls me out of myself into an appreciation of the beauty around me, and for a moment I can access that harmony within myself too. And when we're pulled out of ourselves, sometimes we get little glimpses of the divine, sparks of pure love that refract back in to our hearts centre, and back out again - a perfect unity with all that is.

“Let the beauty we love be what we do. There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.”

― Rumi

This cultivation of beauty is as important to me as growing plants to feed us. It's a kind of pleasure that includes all things that have a kind of perfection and symmetry, a pleasing architecture or grace, just as we would appreciate a painting or a beautiful building. The flash of gold against the gong bought in Burma. The whip of the windhorses in the cold wind. Rocks brought back from the beach, shells on strings. The fractal delight of small cactuses. An antler, found in a forest in England. A winding path lined with volcanic rocks. Hindu deities keeping watch. All of these things work together to make my heart swell with joy, and peace come to my heart.


And so, the garden becomes a canvas for my heart's needs, in a way. A splash of colour with flowers there, a mirror surface of water in the pond where tangerine goldfish flit and eat mosquito larvae, the tactile surfaces of many river and ocean rocks, some pockmarked with larva holes from eons ago, some smoothed, some cut through with quartz. Splashes of turmeric coloured lichen, bone white shells, a bird's skull. The pretty whispering of bamboo, the rustling of the blue wrens in the elder trees. The spiked architectural leaves of aloe, seed pods of banksia, a windchime or two - an aural harmony of bells and birdsong. All shifting, all fluxing with the seasons, the maple red in the Autumn and bright lime in the Spring, the coming baby pinks of the blossoms soon with the growing light.

If I could capture it, somehow, and give you this - you would see my beautiful heart, the one not covered with the worries of life, but the bright one, the one like bird song.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

1wEUFtd.jpg

image.png

riverflows2.png

image.png

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The ground recieves the plant, and nurtures it, and loves it until it bursts forth to delight us.
It should be receives instead of recieves.

Ugh. Damn rules.

You describe your garden so beautifully, I feel like I am right there with you walking around and admiring the fantastic combination of an evolved artscape and flourishing nature.

I hear your beautiful heart and soul each time we speak. This was a perfect bedtime read. Thank you 💖

Glad you liked it. I thought you might and I love that you enjoyed it Xxxx Cant wait to read of your space in Spain x

oh my gosh, your garden is so lovely in the wintertime. Every photo and description captivated me. I could read this over and over a million times. Such beautiful poetic words and meaning.

And when we're pulled out of ourselves, sometimes we get little glimpses of the divine, sparks of pure love that refract back in to our hearts centre, and back out again - a perfect unity with all that is.

I'm like ...tell me more about this magical place of yours.

Awwww... here is a BLOSSOM just for you... the first of Spring, hot off the press!!!20180814_090027.jpg

oh, this is so beautiful. Thank you. Yay for you - spring is coming! :)

I loved how you wrote this post. This really spoke to me: "It's an expanded awareness that pulls me out of myself into an appreciation of the beauty around me,"

It's what I love most about being out in the gardens, with all of the life flowing around me.

Thank you. Me too. It is often such a savior for me. I know it is for you too. I just wish I had more time to do it. Beautiful clear skies here today and although cold it would be such a wonderful day in the garden but instead I have to go to work. At least I had a little bit of time this morning to go out and make a mental note of the things I will do on the weekend. My raspberry Patch has an awful lot of weeds on it I will need some tending to.

With all the rain we've been getting/are still getting the weeds are beyond out of control here. That's a bit depressing, but I still like getting out there...

You are an artist in your garden and a poet with your words! Thanks for sharing that beautiful gift with us! I too find that it's the beauty that draws me into the garden so I can happily go about cultivating my seeds. Question? What was that seed pod in the 3rd picture from the bottom. I found one of those in an old box I had for doing dried flower arrangements. It is such a beautiful design in itself that i put it up on my window ledge.

Oh, it's from the banksia, which is the yellow flower pictured. It's cool isn't it? I love them.

May Gibbs, an Australian illustrator and storyteller, used to make characters out of australian plants, and her banksia men are quite grumpy. When they lose their flower they kinda go fluffy, like they are pictured, and then eventually turn into those pods.

image.png

Glad you enjoyed it @porters!

Love those grumpy characters! Put a smile on my face. thanks for sharing!

He he - aren't they awesome!

this is so beautiful beautiful words from a beautiful soul, thank you for this journey through your little paradise, I could feel the peace it brings you and the heart you have put into designing it. A true reflection of you xxx

Thankyou xxx I love how spaces are a reflection of us. Like ypur truck is now a reflection of your life now.... loved your post on clearing energy!

I saw your comment on @buckaroo and decided to check out your blog.
This is so beautifully written I felt like I was there.
I look forward to your other works!

Thankyou so much!

Hello @riverflows, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87