You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Episode 2 ReWilding Your Gut | Supporting Your Microbiome Through Wild Fermentation (Radish & Wild Onion Recipe)

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I really love fennel and red cabbage sauerkraut. Unfortunately Jamie can't eat it, but I dont know how sad I am about that - more for me! ;) xxx

There are a LOT of great fermented krauts on the market here in Australia - seriously everywhere. Yet, like kombucha - they are so much cheaper to make yourself, let alone the freshness! My Mum is also a GUN at krauts - I have yet to get the sweet crunchy perfection of hers. I grew up on sauerkraut as Dad's side of hte family is German, but the stuff you used to get was pasteurized and not the same thing.

Sort:  

hahaha more for you! exactly how i feel about all of these ferments. i can eat an entire jar on my own... easily and happily!!

yes, you hit the nail on the head: the market is getting saturated, but the really high quality artisan products are usually very experience. so easy to make on one's own too! mmmm wow amazing to hear about your Mum! yes.... pasteurized is not the same thing-- i wonder when they're traditional "live" kraut became the product it is today? mass commercial production, likely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89