You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Bleeding With Homemade Yarrow Styptic Powder

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Wow this is amazing!!! I knew yarrow was useful and I used to see it grow wild in the hedges in England. We used to grow it in herb gardens years ago, but I've moved away from that cottage style of gardening, mainly as it's hard for me to maintain here.

I love your photos - you are the master of a beautiful post.

Achilles the great Greek warrior used yarrow on the battlefield to heal soldiers wounds.

It's funny, we've been talking about Achilles in class as the book we're studying talks about this moment from the Illiad as he grieves over his friends body. We were discussing the idea of leadership, and examining the text for instances that Achilles shows he has great care and love and obligation towards his men, despite the atrocity he commits which goes against warrior codes. This little snippet feeds into that - Achilles tending to his men with yarrow. I'm going to file this away in my head for the zombie apocalypse.

Sort:  

oh what a neat synergy! I read quite a bit about it when writing this piece and he really did seem to care for his men (or so it was recorded this way).

We have yarrow all over the place our "lawn" is a good part yarrow and clover mixed with all kinds of other wild things.

I used to buy yarrow and plant it in my flower garden when we lived in the cold north. I find it funny that all of the pretty flowers I was carefully selecting, growing and spending money on (yarrow, daisy, black eyed susan) are all wild flowers here. It's like hitting the jackpot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85