Ladybugs, Mugwort and the Dream Herb: Magic and Medecine

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

So much Mugwort... We have to find something to do with it!

20180714_220345.jpg

I'm finally learning about mugwort. All its medicinal uses and I've been told so many times about it helping with lucid dreams...

I guess they don't call it the dream herb for nothing.

Again we have an abundance of the stuff just like the berries I found out we have, and so far, three different kinds, black raspberries, red raspberries and blackberries!

20180712_151228.jpg

There are more but I don't want to experiment with berries really!

20180625_164909.jpgAnyone know what these are?


Ok back to our Mugwort

20180714_081008.jpg

Well these two ladybugs look like they're having fun!!!

Looking into it, mugwort's been well used through history. Anywhere from using it to cook with to warding off bad spirits!

Here's a bit from Wiki:

A common name for several species of aromatic plants in the genus Artemisia. In Europe, mugwort most often refers to the species Artemisia vulgaris, or common mugwort. While other species are sometimes referred to by more specific common names, they may be called simply "mugwort" in many contexts. For example, one species, Artemisia argyi, is often called "mugwort" in the context of Traditional Chinese Medicine but may be also referred to by the more specific name "Chinese mugwort". Artemisia princeps is Korean mugwort (Korean name: ssuk, 쑥).It is also found in Japan and Japanese mugwort is known as yomogi (ヨモギ).

20180714_081138.jpg

It's everywhere!

20180714_081119.jpg

...and more

As for food, it seems a lot of countries used it for flavoring.

And than there's the magic of mugwort...

In the European Middle Ages, mugwort was used as a magical protective herb. Mugwort was used to repel insects, especially moths, from gardens. Mugwort has also been used from ancient times as a remedy against fatigue and to protect travelers against evil spirits and wild animals. Roman soldiers put mugwort in their sandals to protect their feet against fatigue.
Source


A good friend has been telling me I should sell this stuff... We gifted him a big bundle for his new california life (he said there isn't any where he is going!). He is amongst the people who keep telling me about drinking mugwort tea for better dreams... it's been a year and I still haven't tried it!!!! I am slacking for sure.

20180714_075319.jpg

I am going to attempt selling it for different uses, smudge sticks, dream pillows, chopped for tea and maybe try it as whole stalks. This will my first attempt at selling on eBay, so we'll see what happens... wish me luck please 😁!

20180714_080448.jpg

I sure hope you enjoyed this post!

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @senorcoconut
In the End, it Always works out
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please tell me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

And don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Mmmm happy to see you're making smudge sticks with it! congrats on all of your mugwort! it will likely continue to spread lol (it can be "invasive"). what a blessing to have so much, definitely a sacred harbinger! i have used the tea for magikal purposes -- and also made "dream pillows" to great effect!!! there is actually a california mugwort too! it is even stronger than this variety. way to go coconut. those smudge sticks would definitely be a good seller and would take pressure off of overharvested white sage!

it's also used as a women's herb to stimulate bloodflow and increase digestion - though because of its bitter taste, thujone (same property in absinthe) and strength it can irritate some people. also used in moxibustion in acupuncture! a very versatile herb :) i have smoked it (makes a good herbal psychedelic smoke) and drank it as well as slept with it. a goddess herb....

The more I read about it the nore I fond out there are many different kinds of Mugwort. I think my friend's moved into Oakland, but perhaps he'll find California Mugwort near by.

Thank you for all the extra info, I have also smoked it by mixing it with a little tobacco, next is making tea!!!

I didn't realize sage was over harvested...but I guess like everything a lot of us humans do, we tend to take more than we need!

Yes! And there’s the smudge craze happening making the demand go up. That’s why these local even invasive smudges are so important to popularize now! Mugwort was used to ward off evil spirits in the past! The tea is bitter and many prefer to take it in tincture form ;)

Aha. Thank you again for your input @mountainjewel. Can Ibdo a tincture, the same way you showed us in a video recently, that'll work right?

Yes exactly. 💚🌿

Ok thank you, I thought so. 😁

If you try it in tea for lucid dreaming I would be interested to hear how it goes.

All this talk and I haven't even tried it still!!! I will make sure to report on it though, once I do 😁!

YO, nice content bro. Will I be able to lock you down for a show soon? RESPECT

Thanks @fracasgrimm, yea for sure lets so a show soon.

Will look forward to hear how the whole adventure of selling and using it works out.

Ah thank you, that feels nice to read 😁!

Thanks for the info, I didn't know it. it's very interesting.

You're welcome 😁

If you drink mugwort tea I will... ha. Ive heard of it but never really looked into it. Will now!!!

hahah it is very bitter!!! be aware ;) i personally love to just chew on the leaves here and there and the dream pillows really work!!

Cool!!! MAYBE Ill order some off ebay ;)

I have a big bush of it and each year spend time keeping it the same big bush instead of it being the entire South herb garden...

I never used it either....

yep it spreads quite easily!!! i need to corral mine next year!

Apparently it's very invasive... it grows all over our open field!!!!

Interesting finding all the bounty of your land. Keep us updated on selling your Mugwort and your dreams haha

Lol thanks @steven-patrick... I'll lep you updated but I am not selling my dreams!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

It looks a little different fron the stuff we call mugwort, but your wiki quote seems to explain that to me!

I look forward to hearing about your further experience with turning this abundance into other abundances!

So many spicies of mugwort I guess! Turning Natural Capital into Financial Capital 🤗... none of it is officially for sale anywhere still though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97