Living Off-Grid: The First 6 Months

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Whan an adventure it's been!

20181025_142544.jpg

Shall we make skunk stew today?


Learning something everyday...

Oh man, where do I begin... it's been such an amazing 6 months. Building a homestead from the ground up is no small task, and we haven't even started with animals or a house!!!

First I'd like to tell you what this dream to build a home closer to nature really is.

Some 10 years ago or so (it could have been 14, I don't remember anymore), I went to Chile with a few friends to film a music documentary. We were there for a little over 6 months living in a van, interviewing musician after musician. It was all about how revolutionary music can be influential and what it has done to move people.

If you're interested in finding out more here's the trailer:


In Chile, some time after Pinochet's dictatorship, places called casas culturales started opening up in urban centers. They brought back into existence indigenous music and art culture that had been prohibited by the dictator. These Cultural Houses bacame hubs for creativity and social gatherings... and of course, as you would expect, centers for activism.

To make a long story short, my trip to Chile sprouted this idea of creating a nomadic cultural center. I called it The People's Caravan, La Caravana Del Pueblo or La Caravanne Du Peuple...

caravane.jpg

Eventually, the idea of creating such a circus morphed into the realization of needing a stable home base. How were we to teach pernaculture if we couldn't fully practice pernaculture? We decided to find land, build a community and practice what we wanted to preach... Art, Permaculture and Self Reliance.

Steem line 2.png

Our First 6 Months Building The Dream

20180926_212100.jpg

This is our official tractor, the little human loves it... and me too!

Like I was saying at the beginning of the post, I've learned something new everyday, since we moved to Dreamland Express (I'm thinking this may be our newest official name!)

So I thought for this first six month update I'd give you the highlights, some have links to steemit posts and some are just photos.

Mushrooms are now a part of our lives. The summer was so fruitful, they grew everywhere in such abundance, it was a sign to learn and start understanding something new.

20181010_121811.jpg

We learned to cook this wonderful fruit of the forest, and it really seems like chicken.

The only other mushroom we took the liberty to eat as we were learning were Black Trumpets

A very disappointing moment was when I went to check on our drying trumpets, only to find they had been attacked by mold... very sad moment it was.


We cleaned, organized, played and learned how to live without running water and having to make our own electricity. Everyday was a learning experience, there was no dull moments.

  • We had to fill up our own 5 gallon water jugs for drinking and sometimes doing the final rinse when we washed the dishes.

  • It rained quite a lot, so we figured that setting up a rainwater catchment system was in order... again we found three 55 gallon drums and I got creative with material we had laying around the property.

  • Charging the battery that gave us a bit of lighting at night came from an inverter plugged into a running vehicle.

  • A good homesteader friend provided us with a small array of solar panels and that helped keep the car off when the sun was out, charging our leisure battery... (yeah we have only the 1 battery for now!)

And then we got a generator... but we had to tinker to make it work, of course!


We grew some food: 🍅tomatoes, tomatoes and more tomatoes...

So we grew tomatoes, a little basil and some mint... yep that's it, that's all but again, with constantly tinkering, fixing learning to live in the rain and keeping a family together we didn't have much time for the garden, as a matter of fact I didn't really take much care of our tomatoes. No problem as I was trying a growing technique which includes almost no effort... I know it rained a lot but here is that post about growing tomatoes without water.

Steem line 2.png

There was so much more, between learning what edible plants we have, which ones are medicinal and which ones are deadly... Having the opportunity (thrown out the window in misunderstandings)to own a dozen grown chickens and a large chicken coop... Going to festivals and sometimes getting on each other's nerves.

I learned so much it would be difficult to make this post unbearably long... I even learned tons about steemit and the wonderful community that it is (it's actually really hard to not spend time on it!)

I am leaving you today with a photo of my dad who was visiting: I love it because he decided to climb up the latter while we were dancing to ACDC's Highway to Hell. Our little 4 year old boy started it, I was able to talk my dad into dropping the work to enjoy the music and we danced for a few songs... an epic moment, something I had never felt with my father, it really was awesome to see him so happy!


Here are the previous updates on our Off-Grid life on Dreamland Express:

PS: @lyndsaybowes, this could be considered a #walkwithme right? Walk with me for 6 months...LOL


AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @Flemingfarm
If you don't like your surroundings, change them
If you don't like your situation, change it.
If you don't like your decisions, make different ones.
All of this leads to the life that YOU want to lead, not the one others want you to lead.

Life is like chess, always try and think at least 5 moves ahead, and if you can see the dead ends you can avoid them.

(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please let me know)

Join Us On Discord

And don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Ah you’ve done so much! Those first few years are challenging! I can say I got pretty burnt out from ours! Slow and steady, long term vision. Looks like you sure had an abundant and educative summer :)

Oh my... yes educative is right! I am feeling a little lost now in the city, I'm not learning much of the things I want to learnd while I'm work but I have steemit and podcasts I can listen to 😁.

How did you get out of being burnt out? Changed speed to Slow and Steady was it?

Thanks for your support

Cool @senorcoconut congrats on 6 months! I remember most of those posts. Yours are always a fun post to read :)

You rock @Steven-patrick... you for sure have been one of the most active steemian on my page... thank you so very much!

I am so looking forward to when I get to start my off grid life! I still have a ways to go, but it inspires me each time I read a post like yours. Thanks so much for sharing the journey.

You're so welcome....it makes me really happy to know it inspired someone out there!!!! Thank you and keep us posted when you get started.

It's been hard, but really really fun. I feel alive again!!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 107 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!! what a milestone.. . you must have learned SO much already.. and you've only just begun!

very happy for you that you started out with some food production and not just building.. I wish i had planted a few more trees when i first started 12 years ago, id be fully sorted with fruits and avacados by now if i had..

we live and learn!
VERY best for the next 6 months!

Thank you so much... I really should look into planting fruit trees. Especially now that I've observed the property for 4 seasons, I have a better idea of what will be where.

Yep, live and learn... You're a great inspiration for all the things we see happening here at Dreamland Express!

I hope your forced vacation and your process to get back home is all going very well.

Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59