You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honouring Our Emotions- EcoTrain Question of The Week-(What Does It mean to Own your Emotions)

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Wow Aishlinn! This was brilliant. You are right, people do see crying as a bad thing especially when children cry publicly. They are kids and not always know the best way to express themselves especially infants and toddlers. I remember my son was barely 3 and he was throwing a huge tantrum in a mall and bit my hand in the process and a family around us laughed hard at that and some were even pointing fingers at us. It made it so hard for me to stay calm, but gladly I did and that helped my son calm down too. And some time later, I read a post by a father on how her daughter threw a tantrum in a store and how he let her act out and cry because she was just a 2 yr old who didn't know how to express herself in another way. That was so beautiful that I stopped letting my son cry when he wanted to. Often, our elders advise us to bribe kids with sweets or something else to make them stop crying but honestly, this worsens things later on and makes them needy. I am not saying one shouldn't trying to soothe crying babies- we should, but we should also see why the baby is crying about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86