Mango Madness

in #ecotrain6 years ago

The mangoes were getting out of control. I had to do something. So, I have been on a mango madness cooking spree.

First up, some mango chutney. Mango chutney is, perhaps, the most classic of all chutneys. Because I'm cooking it, I can use some of the super squishy mangoes. They're not bad. They're actually really sweet. They're just super juicy.

image.jpeg
This is all we need to make a yummy chutney! That's our local sugar in the bag. It's not processed, so it's not really brown sugar. It's more like un bleached. The spices are curry, cinnamon, and nutmeg. You also need salt.

image.jpeg
These delicious mangoes! And I used this whole chunk of ginger, but you don't really need that much.

image.jpeg
Peel and chop the mangoes. See?! I told you they were squishy!

image.jpeg
Peel, chop, and core the apple

image.jpeg
Add in a cup or so of chopped onion

image.jpeg
Now add the vinegar, sugar, and ginger. I put in a cup and a half of sugar, but maybe next time just a cup. It's a bit too sweet. Maybe because these mangoes are so sweet. Then a half a cup of vinegar. Bring it to a boil, and boil it for 20 minutes.

image.jpeg
Then add in some lime or lemon juice. I used half a lime because they're local, and we don't have lemons here. Also a half a tbs or so of curry and half a tsp of cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg. Then boil it for 5 more minutes or so.

image.jpeg
Yummy chutney!

Now it's time to make some jam.

image.jpeg
I boiled the mangoes first because it's supposed to make them easier to peel. I don't think that's true. Like I said, though, our mangoes are soft. If you have hard mangoes, this is probably wise. This is 4ish pounds of mangoes I'm guessing, or 13 smallish ones.

image.jpeg
After peeling, get as much flesh as you can off the seed, and mix it up in the blender.

image.jpeg
Boil up the sugar and water for a while. I used 3 cups of sugar and a cup and a half of water. You want to boil it until it's really foamy and looks kinda stringy when you stir it. I know that's vague. I cooked it another five minutes after I took this on medium high.

image.jpeg
Add in the mango yumminess

image.jpeg
It gets foamy and darker. I think if I wasn't stirring, it would boil over. You need to boil it on at least medium for quite a while. You want it pretty thick.

image.jpeg
I like stirring pictures

image.jpeg
See, it's super dark, almost like chocolate sauce.

image.jpeg
And it's really thick. Now it's done.

image.jpeg
Yummy mango jam.

image.jpeg
It lightened up and thickened up! Isn't it gorgeous!

image.jpeg
So delicious! It's pretty sweet, so you could lessen the sugar, but be sure to lessen the water as well.

There's my mango madness. I'm considering some mango habanero hot sauce next, and the husband is considering some mango beer. I'll keep you posted!

Much love, y’all!

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay unless otherwise noted.

Also, check out @tribesteemup for more information on how to follow the curation trail or delegate. This allows you to help yourself and empower a beautiful, positive community of world changers.

Sort:  

Mango is the most awesome food

I love it so much. It's amazing. You can do so much with it!

I haven't tried making chutney and jam before, it looked pretty easy from your post. Ammahafto try it when I get to it. We like mangoes but since most of the mangoes we get are imported, we don't have an abundance like you do. :) That's some sweet abundance.

Yes, the abundance is truly glorious. They're so expensive elsewhere. I think they don't transport well, and I think that's why they're so pricey.

We love mangos over here! I’m gonna have to try that mango jam...it looks yummy gorgeous! 😄

Oh, it's so, so good! Let me know if you try it!

Yum. Id kill for a mango right now. They both look delicious. Mango jam.... man... if only we had that many mangoes!!! Yuuum

I know. They're so fabulous. Seriously the God of all fruits.

oh I love mangos, we have not yet got them over here and I think I will be in Ireland when they do come out, ah what to do. they are so expensive in Ireland and I hate to but something that has been shipped over. Love the recipes xxx

Oh, I love them so much. I've already almost downed the first jar of chutney. I could never buy them when I lived in the states. They were stupid expensive and really hard and not sweet. Yuck. Not worth it. Glad you loved the recipes. Maybe someone there can get a bunch for you and freeze them!!

Yummm!
Mango salsa maybe?
Mango ice cream?

Mmmm. Mango salsa was the first thing I made when they first came in. It was gone in about a day, though. I really need to make more. It's so insanely delicious, and mango ice cream is a fabulous idea. I need to do that. Thank you for inspiration!!

Oh mango is one of my absolute favorite fruits!! That jam is looking very yummy here, and I have never tried mango chutney before! I wish I had that many mangoes!
Love this post!;)

It's one of my favorite fruits too. I love it so incredibly much!!!! Glad you enjoyed the post. They both turned out really well!

I really can imagine how good it was!! Delish!

Delicious the two recipes, especially the jam that is what I really know.
The chutney, causes me certain uneasiness that combination between sweet, salty, acid, spicy. It surprises me, really catches my attention.
How is it consumed, the chutney?

Mmmmm. Chutney is amazing. It's good on crackers, bread, meat, basically everything. I put it on a roll this morning, and it was amazing. Last night I put it on chicken enchiladas, and that was also amazing. You can also put it on any meat like a barbecue sauce. On a cracker with cheese is probably my favorite.

I think I'll encourage you to prepare it.

Oh, definitely. Over and over again! The first jar is almost gone already!

I'll also risk preparing it sometime.

Excellent! Let me know how it goes!

I love mangoes, and I'm good with mango chutney, but I will almost always prefer to have them fresh than any other way.

Yes, I love them that way too, especially from the fridge. I just have way too many right now. They're falling faster than I can keep up.

Looks awesome and delicious. Wanna try that too. Mangoes are so on at the moment. Soo sweet. Thank you for the recipe.

Glad you enjoyed it! Let me know if you try making it! Our mangoes are really sweet too. If you use super sweet mangoes, then I'd cut back the amount of sugar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11