You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Like a Kid in a Candy Store: A Treasure Story from the Dump

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Cool post I'm one that can't pass things up but just occasional scores nothing systematic like first dibs at recycle center. I have two chairs that are connected like a bench from the waiting room of a jiffy lube that was remodeling set up in my garage. Great for putting on and taking off shoes. Also swung a U and stopped in traffic to get a replacement hub cap for one of my work vans earlier this week. The world is split about in half between people that love those kind of stories and people that think I am crazy. But back to your post, great you are off to a good start leveraging social capital in your new home.

Sort:  

LOL, that is amazing, a U turn in the middle of traffic for a hub-cap! I love it. I definitely stand on the side of those types of stories are genius! I know what you mean, I work in the Hollywood industry (in New York) and I am surrounded by people who are so used to throwing bits and pieces of lumber and other great materials... if I had a box truck I'd be rich with Junk for sure. Very valuable junk for some of us, that is!

I lucked out meeting my prepper friend, he wants to pay forward all the help he got when he started his off the grid journey! He wants to teach people what he knows. I hope he likes tomatoes, because once ny plants start fuiting, he will benefit from that quite a bit!

Eventually it will be my turn to pay it forward too, I am very greatfull for having his friendship.

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80