You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indoor Gardening Project - Part 6 - Pest Control

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I find it marvelous how everyone finds a way to be innovate when the need arises wthout breaking the bank. And I love using as many “natural processes as possible in whatever I do.

I have been very fortunate so far to never have brought in any stowaways when bringing my plants in from outdoors, and I hope to keep it that way!

Thanks for a vey informative post.

Sort:  

Oh lucky you to never have brought in any stowaways.
I thought I was going to be lucky this year even though I actually dug plants right out of the garden and bought them in for my indoor gardening project.
I was fine until I bought in some sphagnum moss late in the season and a few hardly last minute plants that hadn't been killed off by the frost yet. When I put the mulch on my plants it wasn't long before I noticed some aphids appearing on the plants. aphids are pretty easy to get rid of.
A couple of years ago I bought in a coleus from a plant sale and potted it up with my other coleus collection and they had mealy bugs on them - Ah-h-h! I tossed out all of my coleus for I had other more precious plants growing in my sun room. I thought I was rid of them but then they appeared on my fig tree.
I didn't want to spray the fig tree until I had picked all the figs and they got out of hand. I ended up taking cutting from the fig tree and got rid of the mother plant (it had grown real huge and I wanted the space in my sun room for other things anyway.)
I'm a little more careful now and with keep plants bought in segregatesd until I know for sure they don't have bugs.

Yeah, not crazy when I see swarms of bugs, don’t mind the odd one but when you get an infestation, yuk, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81