You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If there is a God, why do so many bad things happen?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Thanks for writing this and opening the topic up for discussion. I was raised Christian, but I like to joke that I gave up religion for Lent, so now I'm a heathen! I don't like to use the word atheist because it seems to odd to have label a person as not believing in something for which there is no evidence. I mean, we don't have the word agnomist, meaning a person who doesn't believe in gnomes, or a1+1=3ist, for people who don't believe that 1+1=3. I have long believed that we absolutely need to teach religious history in public schools in the U.S., because I believe that by learning about the history of religion, people will be more open and accepting of different views. I wonder how many Christians know that the Christian-creation myth was based on older creation myths from non-Christian religions?

While it is clear that religious beliefs can result in positive behavior and actions, it can just as easily lead to negative ones. The problem is not just with religion, but with the fact that religion is faith-based. Faith, by definition, is belief without evidence. By now, at least those of us in developed counties should know that such beliefs are simply not warranted, or should at least be questioned and investigated. This applies outside religions to other ideas that have little to no evidence, such as trickle-down economics, or libertarianism. Combine faith-based reasoning with the fact that most people of faith have essentially been brainwashed into their beliefs from a young age, and you have a recipe for disaster--where people are willing to vilify and even kill others for beliefs that have no basis in facts.

That said, I have no problem with people being religious as long as they don't try to foist those views on me. I also think we should look closely on whether it is even right to force such views on their children. I have not forced my views on my children. I tell then my perspective and point out that others have different perspectives and that it is up to them to educate themselves and come to their own conclusion. I don't want them to go through all of the hassle I went through of thinking that I was bad to not believe in something that made absolutely no sense and had no evidence to support it.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87