As Crazy As IT May Seem! -EcoTrain Question Of The Week

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

As Crazy as it may seem......

IMG_5859.JPG

I have thought about this weeks question a lot, I mean there is so much freedom in this question, there are so many ways that you can interpret it. The only thing that limits your choice, is that it has to be something true. So a few things popped into my head

like how about that time I got faked charged by a huge African Elephant in South Africa or that as a child I was convinced that I could communicate with all animals, that I could read their minds, and as crazy as it may seem, I still feel that way sometimes.

But then I thought about, the craziest thing that I have ever heard and the first thing that comes to mind, that always comes to mind, is that some people actually believe that the Earth is theirs and that they can do whatever the want to her. As Crazy as It May Seem, the majority of people in the world, live as if nature doesn't matter.

That way of thinking and living is so alien to me, nature has always been an extension of who I am, I have always seen the earth as my home. I may have been raised a catholic, but those teachings never felt right to me. I mean why did we have to go into a cold building, surrounded by acts of violence and listened to some man talk down to us. I wanted to be outside, surely nature is what we have to be thankful for, that is where my faith lay and it never waivered. This idea that so many religions hold onto, that God created the world for them, always seemed so ludicrous to me.

IMG_2409.JPG

What is even crazier is that so many continue to believe this and seem to think, that they have a free ticket to do whatever the feck they want. I mean seriously, what the hell do all these people think is going to happen, when all the trees get cut down, when the bees die out. Do they believe that some one is going to fix it all, just like in the movies. Where suddenly everyone unites and finds a solution. Where the men are always the heroes and come to save the day.

Or maybe that's just it, they don't think about it, they are so disconnected that they make no connection between their own survival and that of the natural world. I mean how can we remain healthy, if we are polluting the air and the water. But that is the problem, the disconnection that so many have with the Earth. The idea that all other life forms are beneath them and therefore their property, where they are the master. Where their high standard of living comes before everything else. This idea that the world is vast and provides unlimited opportunities for us humans.

As crazy as it may seem, I sometimes want to run away to some isolated community and live my life in a bubble, surrounded only by people who do honour and respect the earth. But what good would that do. I might as well bury my head in the sand, I have a responsibility to the earth, to myself, to my daughters and my Tribe to spread more awareness, to try and help people remember. To reawaken our understanding of Earth Wisdom, to become part of these universal dance between humans, plants, animals and the earth.

IMG_2449.JPG

I've realized something in my writing, that no matter what I start to write about, it always comes back to the same message, to the same theme. Maybe all writers do this, maybe we all have the same message we wish to share, over and over. Finding different ways to dress it up, to present it. Life is all about stories isn't it?. We create the stories of our lives, we make choices and we live those choices. And as crazy as it may seem I am pretty happy to keep singing my tune.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

You were fake charged by an elephant in Africa? Crazy. I'd love to hear more of your travel stories!

Ah, no matter you keep coming back to same message. You feel it so strongly and so passionately that it's bound to infused into all your writing!! We don't mind. It's a message everyone needs to hear as well, over and over, just in case they forget.

And it is totally crazy! I mean, WTF! She's our mother! Why wouldn't we care for her??

thank you, it is totally crazy and one day I will share my elephant story with you are all. Much love xxx

Oh man, an elephant?!? WOW, good thing it was a fake charge :) I love elephants, I think they're the most majestic and among the smartest animals on earth. My friends used to call me Dumbo...and not because I was fat or had big ears...lol, but because I remembered everything that was once said, even if that person didn't remember it.

But the rest of your post: yes, I feel the same way. So many people seem to think that w're the center of the universe, that earth was made for us. When I read the book 'Ishmael' by Daniel Quinn, there was so much in that that made me think: Finally, someone that thinks like me. A friend of mine recently posted something on her FB wall about a dog that got hit by a car (the driver kept going). It happened right outside her door, and she saw it all happen. She went outside and brought the dog to the vet, and luckily he recovered. When she posted this on her page, this guy said: 'Well, I wouldn't have stopped for a dog either.' Some people were outraged, some were agreeing. When people asked him why he would say such a thing, he replied: 'Well, the owned should have made sure he wasn't on the road. I am not going to risk my life for a dog. I would have kept going.' (while it's probably more dangerous to hit a dog than to try to stop or move around it, but yeah...). It made me think: there are truly still people who feel entitled and think they own the world and the earth owes them. Who decided that the life of a dog is less valuable than our lives? We all live on this earth, and we all have to do it together, no one is excluded. That's one of the things I hate about Ireland, most people don't even like animals and treat them like crap. Although I love a lot of things about it here, the way animals and nature is treated here...I just can't get around it.

I love elephants too, it was such a surreal experience, to be that close as well. a part of me kept thinking David Attenborough was going to jump out of the bushes at some point xx
I really understand how you feel, Spain really treats animals so badly, dogs are left chained up and so skinny and horses I find it so difficult here at times, because of that. But where to go, I know I will not stay here long term, but for now it is good. I surround myself with people who do care and show respect and have rescued a few animals in the past.
That is horrible about that poor dog, some people really are heartless, whata shit excuse, he could have a least stopped to check the poor thing.
I hope you are well, how was Steamfest, I bet you have lots of stories to tell xxx

Yeah, it can be a bit mad here sometimes. I think especially Roscommon and Mayo seem to have animal haters. From my point of view. A few weeks ago, I was driving from one town to the other. A road where 80 is too fast already and a lot of people won't drive much faster in that particular part of it. There was a mother fox dead near the side of the road on my side, and two of her babies in the middle of the road. I can't help but think that someone must have done that on purpose. How can you not see THREE foxes on the road. The two young were babies, but it was October, so not tiny anymore either...I wanted to stop because I could see it only just happened (daylight) to see if there were any of her cubs hiding away in the bushes. But couldn't because there was no where to stop and walk back safely. But I've seen a lot of foxes and cats that got hit on roads where you can easily see them and avoid them. They hate foxes with a passion, and all I can think is: who is actually invading who's space here? But yes, I can't be around people who would say things like that man did.

Steemfest...wow, yeah, it was great, again. It blew my mind that energy. Sad to come home.

Well said! I'm so happy you keep singing your song with a message that needs to be put out there.
I keep having this vision that there will be folks who leave the craziness of the world, retreating into the forest and such, living peacefully and in tune with nature, keeping this way of life to bring it back when the time is right.
I feel the strength of our community here on Steemit will help pull us in the right direction with post like this.
Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97