The EcoTrain Magazine: 13th March 2019- Bringing you Amazing Content from the EcoTrain Passengers

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Welcome to another weekly Curation from the amazing Passengers of the EcoTrain.

Today I have picked one post from each of the passengers that are currently active. Within these great posts each writer is sharing their knowledge with you and also a little piece of who they are. AS usual we have something to suit everyone, from natural medicine to permaculture (the Sustainability Education Center, in Costa Rica, looks amazing) , travel, poetry and life through the eyes of a chicken. ( Thank you @riverflows for that).

It is our goal within the EcoTrain to make the world a better place and we are all very passionate about doing just that, which is reflected in the content we create. So sit back, enjoy and remember to show your support by upvoting, following and resteeming the content that you enjoy and lets all work towards making the world a better place together!

WELCOME!

@stortebeker

Mexican Murals: Playing With Bugs on the Rooftop 

Who says there are no more cool murals? You just gotta know where to look!

It wasn't easy to spot from street level, but once I caught a glimpse of it, I had to find a better vantage point. Finally, as I climbed up to the pedestrian overpass above Ave. Jalisco right around where it meets Calle Parque Lira, in the general chaos known as Tacubaya, I could finally get a shot of it.

The rest was homework: cropping out the detail and enlarging it sufficiently so I could finally take a good look at the image, which was nearly impossible from the street. Staring at the screen for a while, I'm still not sure about what I'm looking at, really. Though I can't take my eyes off this intriguing wall painting.

@thegreens

Today we celebrate the Woman | Happy Interntional Women's Day 2019! 

Today is the International Women's Day 2019 and the campaign theme, #BalanceforBetter is a call-to-action for driving gender balance across the world.

Now marks the greatest and most important time in history to do everything possible to help forge a more gender-balanced world. Women have come a long way, yet there's still more to be achieved. From grassroots activism to worldwide action, we are entering an exciting period of history where the world expects balance.


 

@mountainjewel



Do Bees Self Medicate on Plant Medicine?


This week in the @naturalmedicine contest, we have a very cool and unique contest. We're invited to write about 1 to 3 plants, namely Basil, Elecampane and Plantain. Wow, how fun! Check it out!

I have had some thoughts running through my mind as I learn climate change statistics surrounding insects. It's grim and we need to do something quickly lest populations of insects continue to decline in rapid numbers. I wrote more about some of these side effects yesterday in Unbelievable Stats about Climate Change.

Yet what I want to focus on today, especially concerning the variety of Basil I've chosen to write about, Holy Basil, is the effects that adaptogenic (more on this term soon) plants have on insect immunity.




@walkerland



Sweet Basil Tea: A Recipe to Boost Immunity 


When looking for healing remedies, most often I don't need to look any further than our garden or the kitchen pantry. How about you?
We all know that good food is a powerful ally when it comes to our overall wellness but what about the plants that we use to season our food with? Take for instance culinary herbs. When you pop a jar of basil, rosemary, and thyme into your shopping cart are you considering the benefits they offer outside of meal preparation? When you have the sniffles do you raid your spice cabinet or do you run to the store to get a mystery syrup from the pharmacy?
I chose the herb cabinet every single time.

@riverflows

A Chicken's Perspective on Living in a Gated Community

Hi, it's Strawbum here. I'm a 4 month old Plymouth Rock chicken, and I think I'm pretty cute. What do you think? Check out my feathers.

I've not done much all day except scratch around for bugs, lay an egg and fertilse the garden, so I thought I'd walk you through our gated community of four chickens, plus two humans. I'm a little scared of the humans to be honest - they're noisy and I swear to God they're going to chop my head off. Yeah, yeah, I know - they feed me and put a roof over my head and they've never chopped my head off before, but you never know, do you?
There's only one human around at the moment and she seems determined to build the last gate and fence to complete our runs. Hence, gated community (I live with 3 others chickens, and apparently there's more to come).


@trucklife-family

Ever Changing, Ever Growing, The Many Shades Of Me

I am in two minds about returning to my home on Monday. On the one hand I really have been missing the land, the abundance of food that it provides and my animal companions. Here in Ireland the weather has been up and down and I have been spending way too much time inside, I am craving the mountains, the many sounds of nature that come with living within them. But I also know that I will probably see a lot more people.

I have been able to hide away over here, I have not lived in Ireland for a few years and all my friends are down south, so I have been able to just avoid talking to others, besides family. My friends in Spain will want to come and see how I am and although I know they will do that out of concern and from a place of love.

@senorcoconut

Costa Rica: Let's Visit a Sustainability Education Center.  

After an awesome bus ride, in which our four year old mini human did really well and had a lot of fun, we landed in a small village called Mastatal. Here we were visiting a group of people who have been experimenting with communal living, permaculture, natural building and sustainability for eighteen years.

Rancho Mastatal sits right between a dryer region to the north-west and the wetter region to the south-east, giving them exposure to many different animal and plant specie. It's a 300 acre property, mostlly a natural conservation, butting up against La Cangreja
National Park and protected native land, so they're pretty sure to not have much development popping up all around them!

Over the years, to become an education center, they chose to focuse on a few skills: natural building, fermentation, agroforestry, permaculture and furniture building.

@misslasvegas

I have a plan... or something like that.

In the time I've been here, the people who've faithfully read (most of) my posts, will have read about my 'plans' and will also have seen these plans change a few times.
Truth is, sometimes I can have a great plan, even start to plan it all out, but still end up stuck somewhere between planning and actually acting out the plan. This can have several reasons with which I won't bore you at this point, but some of those reasons are the obvious: lack of resources. Lately, I've been thinking about this a bit more (well, lately... a few months ago is more correct) and I realized that often I would also sabotage my own plans. Not intentionally, but sabotage nevertheless.



@artemislives

Sustainable Chicken Friendly Compost Seed Beds Along The Thai Burma Border.  

Monsoonal doesn't just mean wet, hot & typhoon-driven deluges. Like all things in the natural world, there is perfect balance, which means the many-months wet season has its counterpart - the long dry season where NOT A DROP of rain falls for somewhere between 3 and 6 months. It forces things to be done in their natural order.

Asia has historically practiced slash & burn agriculture... in the dry season the trees drop all their leaves and create cosy little snake nests around the house, while the rice stalks baked into the dried out paddy field can't be removed without equipment far above reach in price for subsistence level farmers.

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

DRIVER
@eco-alex

VIP'S / CURATORS / DELEGATORS
@hopehuggs
@kennyskitchen
@likedeeler
@nainaztengra
@omdemian
@senorcoconut
@stortebeker
@tribesteemup

PASSENGERS
@aware007
@artemislives
@celestialcow
@holisticmom
@hopehuggs
@misslasvegas
@mountainjewel
@nainaztengra
@porters
@rainbowrachel
@riverflows
@senorcoconut
@sharoonyasir
@solarsupermama
@stortebeker
@thegreens
@thelaundrylady
@trucklife-family
@vegan.niinja
@walkerland
@zen-art


If you are new to Steemit, love to write, and would like to join the ecoTrain community as an official passenger please email me on [email protected]

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **

 

CLICK HERE TO JOIN US ON DISCORD AND MEET SOME GREAT AUTHENTIC PEOPLE

 

Sort:  

Awesome post guys thanks for all the beneficial knowledge being shared on the blockchain. Stay awesome and remember to BE WELL

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for including my chicken friendly seed beds post 💚 sharing the work & growth of our indigenous communities matters. Loving the thought-full content & the contrubutions from the other passengers. 🌿💚

you are very welcome @artemislives, How lucky we are to learn about so many amazing practices from around the world xx

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.
You made more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very cool community you're building here. I love permaculture and building food forests. You have a new follower.

thank you @luzcypher it is a really great community and one that I am very proud to be a part of x

Keep up the good work. We need more cool communities around interesting topics other than crypto and Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99