DRAWING: what is the best way to get started if you haven’t drawn before

in #education7 years ago

If you haven’t drawn for years or if you have never drawn in your life, but you feel there is an artist living deep inside of you, the best way to do is to start with simple techniques and then, step by step to learn drawing and painting landscapes and portraits, using watercolor, colored pastel, oil, ink… Anything you like.


source

How and where to start?


I’m not a professional artist, I used to draw when I was in school (many years ago from now). When I decided to refresh my skills a few years ago I enrolled a drawing course in a Design School, bought art materials the teacher said to buy and one beautiful Saturday morning I came in my new art class. We were kind of 20 people between 20 and 50 years old with absolutely different backgrounds and motivations. There were people like me who had used to draw in their childhood but had become professional in another field. We wanted to remember what we had learnt once and may be to apply it in some way in our future life. There were others who had never drawn in their life and were looking for some creative activity, there were also practicing designers and photographers who wanted to improve their artistic skills.

Best material for beginners (my experience)

I was wondering how the teacher was going to organize our class and what task she would give us. How to not fear the very beginners and to not disappoint those who already had some basis? The answer was simple: sauce drawing sticks.


source

To tell you the truth, I am not sure how exactly I should name this material in English. Tell me please if you know. Writing this post, I found out different names: sauce crayons, silky smooth drawing crayons, Russian drawing sauce crayons… Anyway, you can see it on the picture.


source

Sauce drawing sticks are really great for your first drawing exercises. They are soft, easy to erase, you can wet them or leave them dry, depending on what effect you need.

Even if the first task was not easy (we had to draw a drapery), we all did great.

Sauce stick are absolutely fantastic to learn working with shapes and shadows.

Here is my first drawing after almost 17 years of non-drawing.

And here is another one I did later, using dark colored paper and clear colors to show contrasts.

After that it was much easier to start drawing with pencil, charcoal, pastel.

This material has only one disadvantage: after drawing your hands are really a mess. Especially if you’ve got sensitive hand skin, putting latex gloves to avoid irritations may be a good idea.


source

If you are an amateur artist as I am, it would be interesting to know what did you started with?

If you are interested feel free to have a look in my other posts about drawing and art:

A great App for Ipad Pro for digital drawing
Online drawing course of natural illustration-part 1
Online drawing course of natural illustration-part 2
Oil painting by me
Digital drawing by me

FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

I believe the "sauce sticks" are pastels. There are oil pastels and regular pastels. The regular ones are like chalk. Great post! I love seeing work about art education on Steemit and am excited to follow up. You might be interested in some pieces I just wrote about explaining complex art work to children.

Yes, I thought about naming them pastels, in fact they are quite similar although the structure is a bit different. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the post. I start following you so you'll have soon my feedback on your articles. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68