Education Systems in Developing Countries Need An Upgrade

in #education6 years ago (edited)

As most of you may know, I was born and raised in Nepal. Most of my lower level education was earned there – kindergarten, middle school, and part of high school.

Now, the education system there is very different than the western education system. There are many people who aren’t satisfied with the way schools work and what they teach/don’t teach in America. I’m sure there are things that can be done better but that’s not the topic for this post.

I want to talk about how much better the education system in the states is, in some aspects, compared to what we had in South Asia.

Learning or Following?

When I was growing up, from a very young age, students were taught to and rewarded for repeating what the teachers said. Asking questions wasn’t allowed. I say allowed because the teachers never forbade us from asking questions but if someone did ask, it was frowned upon; as if a curious student wanting to learn more is somehow hurting the teacher’s ego in some way...

No level of creativity was encouraged. Music classes weren’t a thing. Physical Education classes were barely a thing and we probably got to play once a week at school. Now, just as a reminder, this wasn’t just in high school. This was since as early as 3rd grade and forward.

We were given one day per week to go to the school library and learn materials outside of classes.

(Fun story: In 9th grade, my science teacher almost smacked me across the face (I dodged so she missed) because I was wearing powder foundation... )

Unnecessary assignments were given to kept students busy over breaks so we technically never got winter, spring, or summer breaks.

Copying pages upon pages straight from a book was an assignment I specifically remember. Yeah, you read that right. Literally had to copy words from my science book in 7th grade onto a notebook, 30+ pages, just so my teacher could put red check marks once school resumed. How did this help me learn anything or made my time well-utilized? I couldn’t tell you. I remember my classmates literally getting spanked because they didn’t copy everything and left out a few pages.

Whoever could parrot out what the teachers taught on the exam sheets would score the highest marks. Whoever followed what the teachers said to do, despite reasonable or not, was the best student.

My cousin, who is 20 years old now, recently told me something that hurt to hear. When I lived back in Nepal, I remember him drawing these impressive cartoons – Pokémon characters, Dragon Ball Z characters, and superheroes. He had talent. However, at school, during art class, his teacher would consistently yell at him and occasionally beat him because he didn’t follow the directions provided. He wasn’t allowed to draw what he wanted to draw.

Fast forward a few years, now he doesn't want to draw anymore because of all the bad memories associated with his childhood hobby.

Creativity Out The Door

Creativity is not encouraged; being a parrot is.

Asking questions isn’t encouraged; sitting down quietly and being obedient is.

Projects aren’t encouraged; memorizing and “downloading” everything out on the exam papers is.

I was a top student and always came first in class till 8th grade. Once I moved to a different city, I was demoted down to be the second-best student haha. My point being, I was a “good” student so I never really got punished or yelled at but I remember many of my classmates getting punished all the time.

I remember one of my close friends from 5th grade who studied a lot and tried a lot to do well but he would just end up forgetting everything he had memorized and would do poorly on the exams. He was called stupid for being the way he is.

Current Situation

I don’t know how the education system is currently; if it has evolved or has stayed the same. However, just like how other aspects of the western culture has slowly crawled their way into other cultures, I think it’s time the education system of under-developed countries be upgraded to a newer version.

As a side note, maybe this is the reason why South Asians are so good at math? Algebra, arithmetic, calculus, and trigonometry are facts so maybe it's ok to regurgitate those on the exams haha

Future

Kids are the future of the nation. Teach them to be independent. Teach them to ask WHY. Teach them to allow their creativity to come out in whatever way they know; art, music, writing, sports, coding, etc.

Stop manufacturing parrots that repeat what you say and sheep that follow the same path as you.

Stop taking out your deep-rooted mommy and daddy issues by beating up kids that are there to learn.

Stop using kids to polish your ego.

Most of all, stop taking away their imagination to keep them from being better human beings; better than you could ever be.

End of Rant

I realize this may be a biased narrative here. However, this is what I went through. This is what I saw my siblings, cousins, and friends go through at school.

Not every teacher was mean like this. I had some very motivating teachers that I look up to even to this day. However, majority needed to punish young kids to feel powerful which is absolutely pathetic.

At least in America, parents AND teachers encourage their kids to follow their dreams. This may not always turn out the best but at least kids here have the freedom to pursue what they truly desire; what they are good at. This is a great step already.

There's so much to work on. There's so many reasons why developing countries are still that - develop-ing. However, I believe that taking a better approach at education would be an excellent step towards a good foundation for the future of a nation. That's how you allow musicians, poets, artists, dancers, rappers, programmers, architects, and many other talents to flourish.


Let me conclude with this extremely relevant quote I found:

"It is because modern education is so seldom inspired by a great hope that it so seldom achieves great results. The wish to preserve the past rather that the hope of creating future dominates the minds of those who control the teaching of the young."
-Bertrand Russell


-cabernet

Sort:  

I realize this may be a biased narrative here.

What What!

Totally considered mentioning you there ;)

Upvoted you toup past $12 . I want to see you talk more about technical details of a real steem based solution. Just explain hkw steem in schools abd submitting scjool and homewirk on steem incentivies learning with money and more importantly producing interesting reports ... that others actually want to read...

I feel like you can start really creating a solid plan to help schools adopt steem... the idea thinks up itself! Ecerything jist falls into place, students get paid upvotes for better work by teachers who sre delegated steempower by the school and students will have multiple teachers etc... its going to be such a blessing to have steem when thete is nothing else to turn to...

Thank you for such an excellent comment @ackza! This is brilliant! My post was more because of a problem in education systems but you found a possible path to a solution. I will dwell on this and make a post in the future; crediting you of course! :)

we have some education problems in my country. rote learning is main problem. so creativity dosnt improve. a good post about an important issue. thanks

rote learning is main problem. so creativity dosnt improve.

Exactly! It will work during school but will fail to get you anything once you're out in the real world.

Thank You very mush @carbernet to posting about education system in Nepal. As I am still a student here I know the condition is still the same except for some facts that information technology is slowly being adopted. But the main drawback of our education system is same as you mentioned that we won't be able to show our creativity.

We need to change and I think we will because our new generation is smarter because we are the ones who are in touch with the technological world and we are know many things about western education system.

As per library and Physical education classes I got the chance because I study in one of the best school in Nepal. (Gandaki Boarding School) and I know I am the very few lucky student from Nepal.

Thanks for the insight @teamnepal! It's nice to hear young minds are making an effort to bring about a change.

I'm sure schools have adapted extra curriculars more now but I think the stigma that only science and engineering is respectable will take a while to go away.

I think the stigma that only science and engineering is respectable will take a while to go away.

This is what is letting us behind. But I think eventually everything will change. As for the curriculum of the course it is really bad as we have everything to rot. Teacher teaches us that. Teacher makes interesting Physics and Astronomy science boring because it is what they have to teach because of the course. We are all exam based.

@teamnepal I hope that you and other students in your generation are better able to explore your creativity with technology. I hope also that you and your generation will use your knowledge about global education systems to challenge your current education system and propose change. Research into child development, as well as observation of the adults that grow from the children, demonstrates that young people that enter adult society unprepared become overwhelmed, leading to a decline mental and physical well-being.

Steal the topics that the teachers make boring back from them...physics is the best for cool experiments you can make with household objects. The desire to learn for yourself is something that will help keep you out of the "old ways of thinking" :)

Personally Physics is my best subject but the course is so lame and the most cool part is astrophysics for me but our course have only a tiny lesson for astrophysics and most of the time teacher skips that. I know I am in one of the best school here which is trying to make the use of Information Technology and we have projector and speakers in the classroom which is very very rare here. But most of the teacher don't know to make a proper use of it and just show powerpoint slides making it more lame because they don't use pictures and videos.

Thank You very much for your best wishes. We will work for it !

Ooh astrophysics is super cool.

I did a quick search and found a free online introductory astrophysics course (please don't be offended if I have underappreciated your current level of study) that seems to have been created by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, a university in Switzerland that appears to be in good standing from a very cursory review. These types of open courses are becoming more and more available in many subjects and difficulty levels, in particular in STEM areas of study. Keep learning! :)

Thank You very much for giving me the link ! I am just an high school student this is good for my level.

If you know someone to offer financial support then please help me. Education quality in Nepal is poor and going to foreign country is expensive and beyond our limit without scholarships !

Hmm, scholarships are available for many reasons, perhaps it would be more direct for your personal research, since you know about your personal strengths better than I do(I'd just search "rockstar astrophysicist scholarships" anyway haha).

But the link was one of multiple courses I found from a quick internet search, they may have specific topics you want more information on, too!

Every sentence depicts my school days.
Nowadays the situation is a little bit different and the examination system has changed from number system to grade system.But the education system is divided into so-called good and bad school.Good school in the sense that they are expensive and government schools are called the bad school.
The problems we faced in our time are not these days problem so Nepal education needs revolution to stop manufacturing parrots.

Great text - even though I don't agree a 100% here:

At least in America, parents AND teachers encourage their kids to follow their dreams.

From my own experience with American high schools, this doesn't count for all teachers ;)

Oh absolutely! But I meant to say, because extra curricular activities are huge here, if someone is talented when it comes to art, sports, or music, they're free to express their interests. Teachers won't embarrass or hit them if they aren't good at academia. Obviously, like you said, there's outliers.

Education determines the fate of nations. Education is important.

you,r Are taking a great Step..dn,t give up keep it up..An investment in knowledge pays the best interest....Education makes a nation Strong Ecnomically and in everyfielding..thanks For Sharing i,m going to follow you For More great Content about education.

Thank you for stopping by @shan89900! I agree with how you said investment in knowledge pays the best interest. Getting people out of their monotonous lives with education and opportunities is what we need.

yeah afcourse Dear....knowledge Can Make Difference between Ignorance and modernism...so People should gett knowledge from Born to deatg....Here should be some seminar On knowledge awareness....

Please create more blog post! I love to read them and just quickly wanted to thank you from the bottom of my heart! THANKS for you support girl😘

Hey Katy! I've been quite busy with school and work lately so sadly, I haven't had much time to dedicate to blogging right now. And not a problem. I've enjoyed your unique posts about food and health! Keep 'em coming! 😊

Awwwwwwwwww😍😭😍
YOU made my day today! ! !
That means so much to me and inspires me a lot!

I’m sorry to hear you’re so busy and hope your doing good tho. Tell me as soon as you make a new post, I’m already sitting on needles (that’s how excited I am waiting for your content😂)

Wish you a good night🤗💤

Thank you sweet ladyl! 😊

Creativity is not encouraged; being a parrot is.

@cabernet your thoughts and feelings resonate with me so deeply.

Believe it or not, growing up in the American educational institutions I also experienced very similar thing.

I will say that I did not experience any physical reprimanding as in America we sue for that lol but we were most definitely encouraged to be parrots.

I remember in second grade I was constantly scolded for making conversation with my classmates. We had this disciplinary system... if you did something wrong, you would get a colored crayon put next to your name on the disciplinary board. Every time the teacher had to discipline you during the week, that color would change to a darker color and your discipline would be a bit harsher.

I remember one day that I had received a red crayon because I was talking, and the red crayon meant that I had to stay after school and have a talk with my parents. Interestingly enough, my teacher never followed through with it. I was surprised, but looking back at it, I was a great student and just naturally wanted to connect with others. I think my teacher realized that I wasn't really doing anything wrong. I was just being social, and the system was disciplining me for that.

Clearly this issue is near and dear to my heart. I really really appreciate your words here @cabernet. I know that this sort of thing won't last much longer as there have been too many of us who have experienced this sort of thing. Times are a changing :)

Resteemed!

I must agree with @axios when he says the American educational institutions are definitely attempting to create un-questioning parrots as well. While we did enjoy the benefit of exploring our creativity in the small times cut out for it, there was limited critical thinking opportunity.

My parents were told that I should become a lawyer when I was in the third grade because I called out a teacher for disciplining an entire classroom for one person's misbehavior, but to my face was scolded for "talking back". I also spoke up about how, after working hard to become a star pupil, my reward was to spend part of my school day teaching a child with learning disabilities.

If any formal school system is going to survive this age of information and liberties, it will need to embrace meaningful skills of skepticism, critical thinking and learning from past mistakes. Working to improve the state of public education is clearly critical for your country, I just encourage all of us to use these global voices agreeing that "no one has education right yet", so rather than emulating a less-bad version, what would a good system include?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64