VERBS: Simple Past and Present Future.

in #education7 years ago (edited)

In my last post i told us that i will sharing with us hints that Will be useful in writing English, to make sure that you are using verbs correctly. You will need to use these for reference, while reading this particular topic of my post d doing the exercises. 

There are four important hints; the first one sets out some of the more commonly needed tenses of a regular verb. The word regular means that a large number of verbs are made up this way. Other verbs vary in one way or another and these irregularities must be learned.

Here is the number one hint:

SIMPLE PAST(tells us about a completed action)

You can either say

I, You, He, She, It, We, or They 

walked home.

Now we have Negative, Questions and Emphatic form like,

I didn't walk.      
Didn't they walk?
Indeed they didn't walk.

Now lets talk about   Past Continuous

It tells us about an action going on in the past interrupted by some other action.

Example:

i was walking down when the cyclist ran into me.

Past perfect:

It tells about the situation up to a particular time in the past.

Example:

I had already posted the letter before i reached home.

AUXILIARY VERBS

Example-could or might   

Past Continuous

You can say

I, He, She or It was walking home when it started to rain.
             OR
It, You, We or They were walking home when it started to rain.

Past Perfect

You can use 

I, You, We, She, He, They, or It to make sentences but most times you can use all of these verbs except I 

Example

He had walked ten kilometres before we met him.

Now when you use the verbs you will notice that I is odd. But you you can use all of them and make sentence with had walked.

PRESENT AND FUTURE

Simple present (tells what always, continually, frequently, often, habitually, seldom or never happens)

Example:

I, You, We, They, He, She or It 

walk to school every afternoon OR always walk a lot.

Negative, Questions, Emphatic Forms:

For Examples:

I do not walk.
Does she walk?
It's true she does walk.
I don't walk.
Don't they walk?
Doesn't she walk?
It's true she doesn't walk.
We will walk.
They won't walk.
Won't they walk?

Future

I, You, They, He, She or It 

will walk.

(There is no need to use 'shall' as a future. It has a special meaning which i will explain in one of my post)


Present Continuous: tells

  • what is happening at this moment. Example: 'I am writing, you are reading'.
  • Can also be used as a future tense showing intention. For example: 'i am going to New York next month'.

Example:

I am walking.

He, She or It is walking.

We, You, or They are walking.


Present Perfect: tells what the situation is at present, up to now. 

Example: I have read three books this week. 

I have already done my homework.

I, You, We or They have OR
He, She or It has
walked three kilometres today.

AUXILIARY VERBS

Examples

may can 

Using this auxiliary verbs put them in the present perfect examples and see the result.

I do hope you find this article helpful. you may want to follow me @danielevergreen to receive more updates like this.

please kindly consider commenting, upvoting and resteeming this article.

Thank you.

This article was gotten from the book English Grammar and comprehension by sheila solarin in 1982 and reprinted in 2009

Sort:  

A source would be awesome Babe...

amazing @danielevergreen ,,, you are just a good teacher :P

Congratulations @danielevergreen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73