You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video games as developmental and educational aid: "Teachers, leave those kids alone"

in #education6 years ago

Excellent article mate!

You just move around, killing everything

That would depend on the type of game of course.

small teams of people building them out of passion which usually feature an emotional bond with the player to keep them motivated to play and are generally viewed as more innovating and artistic

Exactly! Like Monument Valley or Little Nightmares!

you need to have educated educators

hahahah that could sound like a redundancy but you are right, there are educators who aren't educated enough


I think gaming is become more popular with each passing year, and that is great because the bigger the market, the bigger the investments towards better games.

The easiest way to develop reasoning with gaming is playing strategy games like Civilization, but either way, in general I like to defend games every time one person start to attacks them with nonsense.

I remember years ago reading a story about a kid that saves his life from a wild animal thanks to skills he learned while playing games. This is the news I found, not sure if its the same, but at least its similar.

https://www.nextnature.net/2010/05/norwegian-boy-saves-sister-from-moose-attack-with-world-of-warcraft-skills/

Sort:  

Thanks! I am just writing about topics that I think were overlooked or that have shaped me in some way. What better subject to write about than things that resonated with me...

The gaming industry is now launching titles bigger than some Hollywood productions. I am a die-hard fan of Civilization or SimCity. Sadly, this subject of gaming being treated as basic or complimentary education is often overlooked. You can also see it in the rewards :P

I didn't know about that case, nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72