WHEN AFEEZ OYETORO (SAKA) VISITED OBAFEMI AWOLOWO UNIVERSITY

in #education6 years ago (edited)

image
Yesterday February the 16th 2018, one of Nigeria renowned actor Afeez Ayetoro AKA SAKA visited the Obafemi Awolowo University to address the convocating students of 2016-2017 academic session on entrepreneurial skills.


Two days before Friday I saw the poster of the upcoming event posted on the notice board of one of the hall of residence in Obafemi Awolowo University, Fajuyi hall precisely and I made a decision to attend not because I was so much interested in the topic but I wanted to see how Afeez Oyetoro would do justice to the topic and I wasn't disappointed that day.

Before the day I was wondering how I'll attend the event because the time stipulated was 12pm and I had to attend mosque also but I just had it in mind that I'll attend no matter what.

Friday came and the time was 12pm on dot, I walked out of Fajuyi hall, greeted friends, walked past the ever killing yellow house, walked through the now boring students union building and I got to the venue at around 12:35pm, I knew people won't fill up Oduduwa hall unlike if it was Olamide or Wizkid, when I walked in I saw about 20 people already seated, I motioned to enter and I was stopped by one of the ushers, i thought he would ask if I was a finalist but no he handed a me a bottle of "BIG COLA", wow for attending I get big cola, more surprises when I sat down I was given two "BUNS" and yeah I ate them.

The show hadn't started proper as the organizer of the event (I presume) was still addressing everyone, talking about entrepreneurial organizations like TEEP(Tony Elemelu Entrepreneurship Program), and many more I can't explain.

I looked at my wrist watch after a while and it's 1:45, mosque is calling and the guest speakers weren't around yet, I had to leave with a prayer in mind, Saka won't start till I come back, quickly I boarded a "town-gboro" bus from the student union building to religious centre and i went to mosque, I honestly couldn't wait till we finished praying before rushing off to Oduduwa hall, immediately I entered, the guest speakers Afiz Oyetoro (SAKA) and Yinka Oyinlola (both alumni of Obafemi Awolowo University) stepped in and yeah I was fulfilled seeing them and collecting another "BIG COLA" and "BUNS". (chuckles).

Barely 10 minutes after sitting down, the floor was opened for Afeez Oyetoro and the good looking SAKA in white started and I knew I was going to hear things I've heard before but I'm just interested in his own dimension.

SAKA talked and talked, everyone laughed throughout his talk but I kept looking at my wrist watch because I had to be somewhere else by 2pm for a voting process and I was an electoral committee but I wasn't leaving till he finishes no matter what. image

It was 2:55 and SAKA was rounding up and in my mind I was like yeah, I came, I saw and I conquered (more like I came, I ate and I was enlightened (chuckles)).

Now to what SAKA said, you probably have heard them before but let these serve as a reminder.

He said and I quote;

  • Education is never equal to money, it's just a key for an appropriate door.

  • When you're in a place, be self reliant, make observations and create services not around, also no excessive packaging.

  • Money is good but isn't the first thing, prepare yourself, get things done, make yourself known and money will run after you.

  • If you make your self relevant, people will seek you.

  • It is not enough to acquire education but important to apply it.

  • Believe in yourself, be focused, be disciplined, and no faking.

  • The food you eat while sitting isn't yours, get up and make yourself food.

  • BE REAL

I couldn't wait for the other guest speaker as the real reason I went was SAKA and I wasn't disappointed and I also had an election to conduct.

Read through guys and comment.

Sort:  

Good one, I love Saka,really funny and real about his work!

Yeah, very awesome man he his

it is not enough to acquire education but important to apply it.

Many have different intention of acquiring education....that's why we have so many educated- illiterate...
Thanks for sharing

Yeah, the applications are missing, people only attend school because they're compelled to these days.

Good one. Saka is a truly business man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66