Love & Libraries: A One Week Affair: Day 7steemCreated with Sketch.

in #education6 years ago

20180208_130550.jpg

Well, as this love & libraries series concludes today, I have to end it with my FAVORITE thing about libraries! Free all you can eat education!!!

Aside from what you pay in taxes (which cannot be helped, at least legally) or overdue fines (which are your own fault) LIBRARIES ARE FREE!! Holy Moly! Where else can you stroll in somewhere with your whole family and come strolling out with every member carrying a bag full of their own stuff that they picked out, smiling faces, hours of entertainment ahead, and you didn't drop a dime!

20180208_120126.jpg

Nowhere else! You will pay at Game Stop. You will pay for Netflix. You will pay at Barnes & Noble. You will pay at the Toy Store. Yet, how many times over a period of decades did I consistently leave my library with my kids lugging bags full of books, dvds, audiobooks, toys, puzzles, video games! Many times we had to bring our Radio Flyer red wagon on our walk to the library, because we had more than we could carry! Since I homeschooled my kids for a decade, I am forever indebted.

Sure, we spent some money on pre-ordered curriculum and books, but boy o boy, did we supplement with great materials from the library! It was a buffet of books! All you can eat education for all!! 💝💝💝💝😄😄😄👏👏👏

Check out all the other reasons I love libraries:
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6

.png

Sort:  

best to your loveing post i love to your post dear friend.

It's true, libraries are a place that can change lives, it hurts that technology is replacing traditional books with digital ones, books are being left in the past, giving way to tablets and digital books, and I like to read in the book in the traditional way. Greetings

Greetings @manuel97! Yes, I'm with you, I do prefer the feel of a traditional book in my hand. However, I found that after moving several times books are very heavy. One more reason to love libraries! You get to read, but don't have to lug them around. Following you now :)

This has been a great series! I must tell you that my favorite thing about my library these days is that even though my MS keeps me pretty close to home because I am no longer able to drive, I can browse through books electronically and check them out and have them delivered to my Kindle! It is truly the best service ever!

It's so awesome and exciting when technology is helpful for people with disabilities. I'm so glad you've found that service! All the best to you Melinda :)

I agree. Recently, I saw a funny cartoon mathbook set created by Worldbook. Since it has the 'brand name' the set was over $200, but instead I found the books to borrow for FREE!!! All thanks to my local library :)

Hi @nerdynine! Yes, it's so awesome to find great stuff a libraries! As someone who homeschooled my kids for 10 years, libraries truly saved us a small fortune. Following you now :) All the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.59
ETH 3560.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17