Fast Curious Facts #12 Birds, how do they work?

in #education6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I was walking my way downtown with my friend @gabriellecd and she asked me like I was her personal Wikipedia page "Dude, why do birds fly?", and I was thinking, well because they can, I would if I could you know, and it dawned on me "maybe she wants to know how do they fly not why" and while I basked in the greatness of my intellect I proceed to explain what's the deal with birds and not walking policy



Source: GIPHY

FIRST, modern dinosaurs (Aha, you thought I would let you forget that #BirdsAreDinosaurs did you? Well think again ape-brain) are fucking light, when you pick up one of those guys is like they're made of air and feather and a big part of that is because of their hollow bones, well not actually hollow but pneumatized which means that there's space inside the bones that is occupied by air, that makes their bones have a reaaaally low density and makes these feathery dudes so light but really cool

SECOND, birds are strong mates, and they need to because either way they wouldn't be able to perform powered flight and lift from the ground on their own, to achieve this the have powerful pectoral muscles that are anchored to a special bone called keel or carina, this allows birds to generate enough power to fly, what bruh? do they even lift? Yeah, bruh they lift themselves!

THIRD, they have wings (FUCK YEAH, OUT OF FUCKING NOWHERE, I BET YOU DIDN'T EXPECTED THAT, DO YOU?) and they have feathers on them (WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAH, NO WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY), and their shape and the way they move it is what really matters



Source: iamtechnical

You see, the shape of the wing makes the air that flows in the top go faster than the air that goes under, this generates a lift that pushes upwards the wing and thus the bird, plus they flap their wings to generate thrust that makes them go forward and faster which means more lift, AND THAT'S HOW THEY FLY GUYS! Now, the landing is another matter entirely...



Source: GIPHY



Do you like fast facts? Are you curious about something?
Leave me a comment below

Other Sources

How Do Birds Fly?
How Bird Wings Work (Compared to Airplane Wings) - Smarter Every Day 62
Bird Flight | Ask A Biologist
Bird anatomy | Wikipedia



THANKS FOR READING!

Source: GIPHY




If you love and support exceptional and original content please don't hesitate in supporting and voting for #Curie as a Witness here, thanks, I'm sure everyone will appreciate your support.

elfranz.png
Curie Curator

Sort:  

A mí no me sorprenden tus locas ideas, a mí me sorprenden los GIFs que consigues para que vayan acorde a esas locas ideas 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87