LEARNING COULD BE FUN! - TEACHING MY STUDENTS HOW TO CONJUGATE TWO MAJOR VERBS IN FRENCH.

in #education6 years ago

Dear Esteemed Steemians,

It's a new week and it's week five (5) in the Nigerian Academic School Calendar.Teaching/learning have started in earnest and I'm so excited. Yea! I am because teaching gives me so much joy.

Over the years, as a French teacher, I have been faced with so many challenges, but by God's grace I have been able to tackle these challenges to an extent, by applying some teaching techniques. Some of these challenges are listed below:

  • Curbing noise making in the classroom.

  • Getting students to pay attention to lessons in class.

  • Making students master the subject matter.

  • Getting students to do their take-home assignments.

  • Using the right corrective measures.

In subsequent posts, we will discuss more about these challenges.

Presently, I teach French in several private schools in Kwara State, Nigeria. Every Mondays and Tuesdays, I teach the Junior School students (J.S.S 1-3) of BIMAKS International School, a school situated at Ijagbo, Kwara State. However, I have a special liking for the students in class 1(J.S.S 1). They are so eager to learn and I'm usually very excited teaching them.

This week I taught them how to conjugate the verbs - 'Etre' and 'Avoir'. If you are conversant with French, you will know that 'Etre' and 'Avoir' are two major verbs in French. Every French student ought to know how to conjugate these verbs.

After teaching my students how to conjugate these verbs, I gave them opportunity to conjugate the verbs on their own. I was really impressed by their performance. Most of them did the conjugations rightly. I was indeed glad that my teaching was a success and the aim of the lesson was fulfilled.

In case you are lost, here is a brief explanation of the word -conjugation.

Conjugation is the process of putting a verb in its proper form in order to make correct sentences with it. All verbs in the French dictionary are in the infinitive form (raw form). They cannot be used in this form to make correct sentences; they have to first be conjugated.

Below are the conjugations of the verbs - 'Etre' and 'Avoir':

Etre - to be
Je suis - I am
Tu es - You are
Il est - He is
Elle est - She is
Nous sommes - We are
Vous êtes - You are (plural)
Ils sont - They are (masculine)
Elles sont - They are (feminine)

Avoir - to have
J'ai - I have
Tu as - You have
Il a - He has
Elle a - She has
Nous avons - We have
Vous avez- You have (plural)
Ils ont - They have (masculine)
Elles ont - They have (feminine)

Here are some snapshots taken during the lesson.

image
Moi doing one of the things I love so much -Teaching!

image
A student conjugating the verbs on the chalk board.

image

image
Students doing their exercises.

I love these students so much. They make my job fun and interesting. They are super smart and intelligent, although they could be naughty sometimes.

Teaching is not a very easy job, especially when it has to do with a foreign language, but I thank God who has been helping and guiding me through these years. I am so glad I chose this profession because I'm fulfilled being a teacher.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog.
I appreciate your upvotes, comments and resteems.
Do have a great week ahead.

Sort:  

Wonderful. I have been looking for teacher on this french issue. I lost my girlfriend bcs i didnt understand french and she didnt understand english either.

Are you kidding me? How did you two get together in the first place?

How did you manage to woo her in the first place?

😂😂😂😂
Busted! You guys asked 'killer' question! 😂🏃🏃🏃

Am interested to know. How did you get to know each other

Oh. Am so sorry about your loss. You can enroll for online French classes am readily available.

Good work over there.

Thanks a lot. I'm grateful.

I think I will also need to enroll with you for French class

Wow! That would be great. I am at your service sir.

I will follow you! I give you a Upvote!

Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72