What if teachers always say yes...? #cagefreethinking 4/17/18

in #education6 years ago

Yes GIF-downsized_large.gif

Welcome Cage Free Thinkers! This is a series of ponderings related to education for the purpose of sparking curiosity, dialog and change. Please share your thoughts on today's big question.

What if teachers always say yes to student ideas unless safety is compromised?

Sort:  

That would be a great idea and will spark lots of creative thinking and debate. Like in improv: Yes and...

Thank you for being a freewrite encourager!!

I try to live by the Yes, and... mindset. I bet you do, too.

I entirely agree with in-class exploration, but as a teacher who did say, "yes" as often as possible to a 6th grade science class, I found the principal and other teachers were not for this approach at all. I only lasted a year at that school and when I had my performance review, the principal told me the best way to teach was just read from the chapter Monday and Tuesday with students taking notes, quiz on Wed, Thurs some controlled experiments and Friday a test. Uggghh.

Gross! Been there, too. Things are starting to change for the better, although very s l o w l y.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55