My opinion about the university and the study

in #education6 years ago

Hey steemians, how are you? I'm José, although most of you know me as Jacks, a guy who uploads content to Steemit with the theme of videogames, but today in my blog I'll do something a little different, and today I'll tell you something that It happened a few days ago when I met an old friend from high school.


SOURCE

Recently on the campus of my university I happened to meet someone I had not seen for some time; a former high school classmate, as he had mentioned in previous lines. When I had not seen him for so long, I decided to talk to him for a while because I had some free time, it was a very long conversation in which we talked about many things, from those days we spent together in school to the situation in the country...We talked a lot, but in that conversation we gave our opinions about our university, and his opinion was something that left me thinking during these last days.

He told me that he was sick of the university and its teachers, that he disliked the idea of having to attend classes for four, five or six years to get a "good job". Besides, he mentioned another couple of things, but in a few words what he wanted to tell me was that he hated the university and that he would surely abandon it soon.


SOURCE

All these things he said, made me think how wrong our idea of the university is. We young people in general believe that university is a mandatory requirement to get a "good job", but the truth is that going to university does not guarantee that. And first of all, the university does not have that purpose. The goal of going to college is to acquire knowledge.

Personally, I am one of those who think it is necessary that we never lose our curiosity, or that we stop asking questions about everything that surrounds us, I think it is necessary that each one of us make our best effort to continue with our studies and our path towards wisdom, even after having obtained a university degree. And I highlight the above because very few people consider moving forward in their area of studies, either obtaining a master's or doctorate, let alone doing a second career since many consider this as "suicide" or "loss of time".

Young people must understand that the university is not a "requirement" for something greater, since the study itself should be something fixed in our lives. Although I understand that not everyone can attend a university for economic or work, but studying and reading at home should be a permanent activity in people's lives. I invite you to study on our own and not with the aim of achieving a "good job", but with the goal of being better citizens, in this way we will benefit all members of society.

Sort:  

Great post! Followed you.

University is too expensive but helped me get a great job. Graduated 10 years ago and had a blast.

Exactly, the university can help you more than some think, it is not a place to get a "good job" as I said in the post, it is a place to get the best of yourself, thank you for commenting, a hug.

Think that the educational system needs changes! There is more and more people surrounding me that have the same opinion as your friend and feel that there is no great thing of studying. The problem is the passion. As you said, curiosity is the main engine that takes you the amazing life journeys :) and today's university system, in my country (Croatia) is unbelievable demotivating. But, if you find a purpose in the specific feild, you will have success with or without the university degree.

Think that the educational system needs changes!

I say this for a long time now, but I haven't come up with an alternative system that make people WANT to study in, and still makes sense practically.

It is true that the educational system needs changes, but young people also need to change, we need what you say, passion, because without it, we will never reach our goals. In addition, young people need a motivating educational system as points, but more than external motivation we need internal motivation. I regret that in your country the education system is so destabilizing, here in Venezuela it is not very different from what we say, but for me, my university motivates you constantly so that you work hard and do not give up in spite of the difficult situations that we are going through. A hug from Venezuela to Croatia for you @Vee.nathalee

If you curious about something, you should pursue it. University act like a medium, it is not a necessity to succeed in life although some jobs like doctors and engineers will require at least a degree for you to be qualified.

It is certainly like that.

Sadly it's like this in my country too... What socity doen't understand that there are people who are smart, and strive for knowledge but not in the way it's thought in schools/colleges.

I for one, spend %50 of my "awake time" learning, but things I learn are just trivia and unfocused things I find from the internet, games or books I read. Things that won't help me at any practical job at all... But I can use in future if I'm going to write stories and such things.

I learn things thought on school faster when I need them, school/college teachers most of time don't make you feel the urgency like "what I'm telling you is really important in your life, look how." way...

Can you blame them? The system itself discourages that.

These days I find more people who are studying to get a "good" job (yup, even children in school looking up to their future selves) than actually wanting that job, or want to learn at all.

This is depressing...

I do not know what your country is, but one must always look for the alternatives because although they seem to be non-existent, there they are, you only need to look for them. And good in my country, everything is crap, but the teachers of my school, are people passionate about what they do, that even though their salary is equivalent to $2, they work and do not give up what they like to do. is to teach. And well, as for the things that one learns, I think that none is useless, all, absolutely all you can get to serve, are like tools, but you have to know how to use them. Finally a greeting and a hug for you friend.

Thanks, I know that there's no useless knowledge (well, there is but even that can turn useful if you're strong enough.) Glad that many of your teachers are passionate about it... I can't say half of those who teach here are.

Thanks for the advice.

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57