Fancy a crap degree? Try Harvard!

in #education6 years ago (edited)

When I was growing up, my Grandma used to say I'd need to be in college to be considered 'a young lady' and treated as such. Nothing to do with turning 18, wearing make-up or having a boyfriend. You needed a student's card in your pocket to be taken seriously.

harvard2.jpg
Source

Over the past few days, I keep imagining this scene where I go tell the old lady about my daughter, her great grand-daughter.
'Oh, she's doing extremely well, she's going to college. She's studying poop!'
I'm trying to be respectful. Even in an imaginary dialogue with my late Grandma I would not say shit!
But, shit it is: Harvard University is offering this spring a course in shit and it's importance in modern French Literature. With a more fancy title about 'excremental poetics'.
Let that sink in: Go to Harvard and study shit!
I won't rant about all the irrelevant, ridiculous or downright stupid courses once respectable institutions offer these days. And I'm not going to say this madness must stop. On the contrary.
Let them become even more laughable, let them offer nothing but crap. Become a mockery of education. Mean nothing.

As a mother of two unschooled kids who won't probably go to college, such news make me happy. Having a degree starts meaning less and less. Even the kids that actually study something important there will see their efforts tainted by poop.
It used to be that you felt respect hearing that someone was a Harvard graduate. Now, hearing the same you'll wonder – did they get credits studying poop? The 'excremental poetics' course gets you four credits, in case you're wondering.
This liberal madness so pervasive of today's campuses is turning the traditional educational establishment into a laughing stock. How can you trust these people to provide a solid education in any field? It's the same people that seem to think 'excretion as a model for the process of writing' is worth four credits.
I did a random search of Harvard's course catalog only to discover the poop course is worth as many credits as a course on Dante's Divine Comedy. Four credits – just like a course called 'A short tour of the Universe guided by Einstein and others'. To be able to attend you need good knowledge of algebra and trigonometry, plus some basic physics. Why bother understanding Einstein when you can get those four credits by listening to a feminist professor talking about feces?

harvard.jpg
Albert Einstein attending a graduation ceremony at Harvard Source

The good news is that years from now if a young graduate goes to a job interview and starts by saying “I studied shit at Harvard”, my unschooled daughter would have no trouble getting the job.
For the rest of the world, I'm afraid it's bad news – these morons with a crap degree will be tomorrow's professors and will go on teaching crap to the younger generations!

Thanks for reading

rebecca-516397.gif

Sort:  

I highly suggest reading the book Excellent Sheep. It put a lot of things in perspective for me. It really goes to show just how overrated college is and how stupid people really are for paying such a high price tag for it. No offense to those with college degrees. My heart breaks for those who go into the world with mountains of debt and still can't get jobs because their degrees don't always translate to the real world and still live at home with their parents.

College is so overrated it isn't funny. The young adults that are led to believe that 'higher learning' is the key to success are like lambs led to slaughter. They are only trained to be debt slaves the remainder of their days. I so agree with your homeschooling! It is the best!

Lol. I'm just sitting here shaking my head. You can't make stuff like this up.

Sungguh sangat menarik untuk saya ini post.
Dan sayang sekali saya membacanya lewat translit .
Hehe kami bangsa Aceh sangat menyukai posts ini mari bergabung dengan komunitas @nsc
Aceh serambi Mekkah

You got a 2.79% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ladyrebecca!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67