You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feeding Two Birds with One Hand: Nurturing Empathy and Curiosity Through Relevant Learning Experiences #cagefreethinking

in #education6 years ago

This story touched me. Im so glad the doves realized it was safe to return. We've been watching a mom and dad bird protect their nest in our back yard from a gang of crows nearly 4 times their size for the past two days. The crows are SO smart! One distracts and gets the duo to chase him away from the nest while another comes in from the back. I want to intervene so badly, throw a rock at the crow or something but its natures course, I guess. I wonder what the parents will do if they lose all their babies? Leave?

Sort:  

Oh @madpotters, it must be so hard not to intervene. The doves would most likely abandon the nest and begin again elsewhere. I learned that they have several sets of nestlings each season, if that's any comfort.

oh that makes me feel a lot better for sure! i hope they stick around, they're really a beautiful pair. no idea what they are, maybe a mockingbird?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65