You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Down a research Wormhole: Internal Monologues

in #education5 years ago (edited)

An individual without an internal monologue would be acting solely on instinct or programming. I have never met someone who claimed to lack a voice in their head.

Children often think out loud and must learn to cultivate an inner monologue and discern what is better said inside the head and what is safe to speak, what should be acted out and what should be left undone. We say people who lack this inner dialogue have impulse control issues. I would say lacking an inner monologue suggests a lost developmental opportunity.

A very interesting post, Kara:)

Sort:  

Through my research, there have been some commenters who said they lacked an inner voice and that it was weird that others had someone in their head. I don’t know that I’ve ever asked anyone about the voices in their head (but now I want to) but I have never met anyone in person who mentioned it one way or another. I’m curious if this is something that could be developed- If a person doesn’t have one, could they be taught to create one?

Posted using Partiko iOS

When I was a teacher and with my son. I encourage the development of one. I mean isn't that sort of what like reading to yourself is?

Yes, exactly! I might talk to my students more about their inner voice- now I’m curious how many have stronger or weaker ones and if this correlated to academic achievement.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80