What is Society?

in #education7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: What is Society?


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Thanks for educating us! That was very interesting. I have recently been looking into systems theory, and complex systems science, it seems to be very relevant to your posts, especially the study of global networks, which are definitely the future. As they say, the future is decentralized.
Upvoted and resteemed.

This question can be traced back to the middle ages during the nominalist and realists debates. I think the common sense answer is society is not really real in the sense a tree is real, society is just collection of individuals. If 2/3 of individuals in a given "society"are drunkards, then it's a drunk society. In my opinion, methodological individualism is the soundest way to base any social inquiry.

Interestingly, the digital age along with it's technologies makes this issue even clearer as these complex interactions can not be reduced by some sociologist made to fit into a round category. People are realizing individuals are fluid and hard to make vast generalizations.

Btw, I'm assuming you wrote the article linked by cheetah? I would be happy if you can prove that.

Yes I did - Revisesociology.com is all mine! The blog's linked to my google plus - Karl Thompson, same as on here. Whether that's proof enough I dunno!

Being robotted was an panic-inducing experience, however at least I'm not actually plagiarizing. I know it's not the 'done thing' on here (yet not completely frowned upon) to repost material you've got elsewhere, but I really wanted a basic sociology post early on. In future I'm gonna delete any material from elsewhere before I post it here, there's some stuff that doesn't get many hits on revisesociology that'd work better here me thinks.

Thanks for the previous comment, check out Jacob Lund Fisker's book on early retirement if you're interested in systems theory.

Great. Just be sure to add the info in your posts, if it has been posted elsewhere, just to be safe from steemcleaners.
And I will check your tip, thanks!

Great post, I did a little sociology in college, it's great to have a refresher. Looking forward to reading more.

Theres only one true society and that is " I am".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85