Decorating my (future) classroom

in #education5 years ago

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/sunravelme-decorating-my-future-classroom-wvtlexni-1547011592449.jpg

I currently don’t have my own classroom. Which sounds freaking weird, even as I write it. I actually teach in two separate rooms at two opposite ends of the building- thankfully I only have to make the uphill climb between the two of them once a day, between 1st and 2nd period. There are a ton of benefits- the beginning of the year was pretty chill, since I didn’t have to do any decorating. Anytime teachers are responsible for recycling or picking up posters or posting notices in their rooms, my roomies take care of it. And they have dealt with me invading their space very gracefully (although I’m sure they are just as ready for me to have my own room as I am).

But man, sometimes I really miss having my own room. For Christmas, my dad got me a really cool Harry Potter banner (ravenclaw because he didn’t know my house but whatevs) and I HAVE NO WHERE TO HANG IT. One of my fellow teachers found these spectacular posters, and I found a way to get them without having to pay for them out of my own pocket (a flipping miracle) but again- no where to put them.

Some serious first world problems, I know. But look at that poster- it would be so badass in my room!

For all that- today was a good day. This year has been a good year. One of my students told me, in a circle with all her other classmates, that the major thing that helped her last semester was “you didn’t give up on me, even when I gave up on myself” 😭😭😭😭 these kids break my heart and put it back together sometimes. I am so grateful that I had the courage to quit a job that was breaking my spirit for teaching, and go somewhere that I feel I have the autonomy to do what I need to do to help my kids.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

That’s really neat that you are making such a difference in your students’ lives!

Thank you! It’s easy to forget sometimes when you are in the daily slog of grading and lesson planning. I like to keep these moments in my personal file for when I have a rough day and need to remember the why. This student had been absent a lot, so I had to assign her lunch detentions to get her caught up. Sometimes the kids don’t get that it’s intended to help them, not punish them, but she did!

Posted using Partiko iOS

u are so hufflepuff ;)

Griffindor last time I tested!

Posted using Partiko iOS

ive tested a few times on unofficial sites (can never seem to get the real site to work) but i always get different results. one day ill try again.. but murphys law says i get slytherin...

Some of my favorite people are slytherin ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.413 which ranks you at #2184 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2181).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #139.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58