Learn How To Knit Your Very Own Mittens (Brrrr, It's Cold Outside)!

in #education6 years ago

This addition of Learning To Knit With @sweetpea was inspired by @fionasfavourites. This lovely lady left a reply to one of my previous posts and mentioned that she had started knitting a pair of mittens after her original pair went missing. This sparked a challenge! I have never made mittens before and now I was itching to knit a pair! And knit a pair I did!

Since the early school mornings are starting to get quite nippy, I thought it would be nice to knit a pair of “gloves” for my little boy, to keep his tiny fingers warm as we make the commute to his class room. Upon taking up the task, my kid was thrilled that I was making him a pair of his very own “gwoves”, as he calls them.


I found a very easy to follow pattern, which can be viewed at it’s original source: http://mackandmabel.blogspot.co.za/2012/06/baby-mittens-knitting-pattern.html. 

Before you get started, you will need the following utensils:


  • Size 3.5mm straight needles
  • Size 4mm Straight needles
  • Double knit yarn
  • Thick sewing needle
  • Scissors

Click Here For The Original Pattern Source

The steps are very easy to enough for beginner knitters to follow. The only part that might stump you is where you need to Make 1 (m1) to shape the thumb. To make one (increase one), all you need to do is lift the thread/yarn that lies straight between your two needles and lift it on to your left needle. You then knit into the back of it to make an extra stitch. 

If you have a quiet day ahead of you, you could very well knit a pair of these kid’s mittens in 2 hours! You can also use bits of leftover yarn to create colourful stripes, putting your scraps to good use!

If you are a beginner knitter, or perhaps you would learn how to knit, then please follow my series of tutorials and Learn To Knit With @sweetpea.

Previous additions to the Learning To Knit With @sweetpea Series: 

01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch 

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches 

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch) 

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch) 

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1) 

08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw) 

09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns)

PATTERNS by @sweetpea:


Give me a HIGH FIVE!!!

Thank you once again for taking the time to Learn To Knit With me! There will be plenty more tutorials and patterns to follow, so please stay tuned and pop in often for more updates! Happy knitting! 

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Oh, I am thrilled to have inspired mittens for your little boy! And funny, I was thinking about you when I found one of my pairs. Now I must finish the ones I started about a year ago and need to remember where I've got to!

So here's the finished and unfinished pair - and another challenge for you: knitting on four needles:

20180509_100424.jpg

And you are right - they are quick to do, and an essential part of my wardrobe. I wear these fingerless ones when I'm at the computer, and particularly when I'm doing a lot of work with my mouse because my hands are ALWAYS cold.

to be the first time you were very beautiful! I imagine the following ones will be even better! every day you learn something new, it is in us to remove the limits and see opportunities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59