Don’t hide, seek! How my NSFW posts intend to serve a larger audience

in #education6 years ago

Don't Unfollow Yet!

Many users likely have not interacted much with content with the NSFW tag on this platform. For some people, they go against religious beliefs, some people have embarrassment or even fear. I want to utilize cited peer-reviewed research to provide educational material about the anatomy, physiology of sexual intercourse, as well as related topics of relationships, physical and mental health, and art that sends a sex-positive message to help destroy these barriers. My post will utilize various media that will explore human genitalia, common sexual acts, contraceptive choices, fetishes, products.

For this topic introduction, I have not included any explicit media in this post. The following content does discuss sexual themes and therefore, further written content may not be safe for work environments. Please consider returning to this post on your own time and letting me know what you'd like to learn about!

As I mentioned in my introductory post, (Sex-Positive, scientific psychonaut saying “Salutations, Steemit”) I was brought up in a religious household that taught me that any kind of sexual activity that was done without the express goal of making babies was wrong, shameful, corrupting. Sexual contact was only supposed to occur after marriage and no contraception was to be used, since procreation was always the goal. But when we look at humans compared to most other species on our planet, we see that our pleasure has been a selected trait, something that the earliest people (and even earlier ancestors) chose to enjoy.

Holly Dunsworth, associate professor of anthropology at the University of Rhode Island, explored the history of seeking sexual pleasure in her article, “When Did Sex Become Fun?” and her position cites the transition from external to internal fertilization as an important development in act of reproduction. The first recorded example was in fossilized fish embryos found within their mother, and fossilized fish penises followed soon after.


Source

“But how could a fossil fish penis be evidence for pleasurable sex? Can a fish have fun? It’s not easy to know. But it’s also not that important, because I think we can safely assume that something about copulation must be rewarding to the individuals doing it—or else they wouldn’t risk sustaining an injury by socializing so intimately.”

So can we point to fish as the first frisky friends to find fun? For males, this is likely true,but a recent publication on the evolution of the female orgasm acknowledges a large imbalance in the occurrence of orgasm during heterosexual intercourse. Why would evolution require the orgasm of one party and not the other for reproduction? Originally, it didn’t. The abstract discusses that the human females’ endocrine response mimic those in species that have an orgasm-induced release of eggs, rather than spontaneous ovulation. Female orgasms may not be required for reproduction, but I encourage females to enjoy and share the experience with a partner for a fulfilling sex life.

Please consider giving my NSFW posts a view and interacting with this blog for supporting accurate, accessible sexual education and providing feedback about topics that you want to learn more about. I am always ready to pursue new topics and want to hear if you disagree or need more resources for forming your own opinion.

And remember, the steem work makes the dream work! ;*

References for further reading

Dunsworth, H. (2016). When Did Sex Become Fun?

Pavličev, M., & Wagner, G. (2016). The Evolutionary Origin of Female Orgasm. Journal of Experimental Zoology Part B: Molecular and Developmental Evolution, 326(6), 326–337.

Sort:  

"Why would evolution require the orgasm of one party and not the other for reproduction? Originally, it didn’t. The abstract discusses that the human females’ endocrine response mimic those in species that have an orgasm-induced release of eggs, rather than spontaneous ovulation."

Ho-ly SHIT. My tiny little brain has just exploded.

I checked out the articles you referenced in your blog post and found this little tidbit “human female orgasm during sexual intercourse is uncommon, in particular without additional clitoral stimulation; the orgasm is in fact more common during female masturbation or homosexual intercourse, than during actual heterosexual intercourse.”

I really wish someone had told me this when I was exploring my sexuality as a teenager! ha!

I really wish someone had told me this when I was exploring my sexuality as a teenager! ha!

Really though! I am so excited for my series on masturbation techniques. Like any good scientist, I repeat these experiments a few times, sometimes with a lab partner giving a hand ;) I have done plenty of exploring prior and I still am learning new things.

I can't wait to read it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66