A Case for Public Education

in #education7 years ago (edited)

still-life-851328_1920.jpg

It's the start of another school year, and my year has definitely started off with a bang. It seems that crisis and drama might be the theme of my school year. For those of you who may not know, I am a high school counselor in an alternative education setting within our high school building. During my short time on Steemit, I have read tons of interesting articles about homeschooling and unschooling, both of which I was fascinated to learn more about from the eyes of those who have had experience with it. I don't believe in a "one-size-fits-all" approach to education--private, public, homeschooling, unschooling--I believe there can be benefits with each approach for different types of learners and learning styles. Clearly, I work in an alternative education setting, so I believe there is more than one right way to teach a child. Today, I wanted to share my perspective on the one with which I am most familiar--the public school setting.

classroom-2093744_1920.jpg

Often times, you hear about public schools that have failed their students, boring classrooms, unqualified teachers...and public education comes off as being the devil. I know there are many schools out there that need reforming and overhauling. However, in these past nine days of school, it has become so clear to me that for some students, public schools are sometimes the only safe place that a kid has to find help, safety, food, and a break from the chaos that might make up their home lives. In these last nine days, I have sent a student to the Emergency Department for thoughts of self-harm, made phone calls to DHS, kept a student safe from a group of people who wanted to jump her, and spoken to students about numerous mental health and home life issues--in just nine days. These kids were just waiting to get back to school to have a safe place and safe people back in their lives. Sometimes, the education part is secondary when the focus is on survival.

I read the articles about homeschooling and unschooling and I think about the great parents who are able to give those experiences to their children. That's a beautiful thing! However, even I will never be able to offer my children an unschooling or homeschooling experience, because I am the head of a one-parent household--me working full-time is an absolute necessity. Unfortunately, in my role as a counselor and a foster parent, I work with so many broken families who aren't able to operate in a functional manner. Kids flock to school in the fall and don't leave when the bell rings in the afternoon. You will see many kids hanging out on campus long after dismissal, as the walls of school become their home and the people working there become their family.

people-2243021_1920.jpg

I don't have many more thoughts on this topic right now, but the subject matter was heavy on my heart tonight as I heard about a student somewhere that attempted to take his own life. The gravity of the role that I play hit me pretty hard as I was thinking about the counselors at that school working to serve their students during this time of crisis. If only all students felt loved by their families. If only all students had safe homes to go home to at night. How very different my role could be.

Public schools might not be the best avenue for all kids, but for some kids, it saves their lives every day.

(Photos courtesy of pixabay.com)

Sort:  

public schools are sometimes the only safe place that a kid has to find help, safety, food, and a break from the chaos that might make up their home lives.

And how very right you are.

One thing that I notice in every piece of writing you compose is the love and concern you have for those in need. You work so hard to create a safe place for people. I can only imagine the effort and strength it takes to help young people find a sense of dignity amidst their broken lives. May you continue to have strength for the great work that you do.

Thank you kindly! I'm not going to lie at times it's wearing! I often wonder how long I will make it in education. Not because of the work with the kids but because the institution itself is an ever-changing landscape and often times gets in the way of men being able to do my job and enjoy it. My parents instilled that sense of social justice and the desire to help others in need. It's very much how they did live their lives daily while we were growing up and still live today. I can only hope that I can pass that along to my own two!

I have no doubt your two beloved babies will receive an education of social justice - they have a great teacher.

Thanks for your perspective. I appreciate the reminder that for some children public school is the safest place for them on any given day.

My family home schools. It is the best choice for us but not the best choice for everyone. Thanks for not judging others and assuming what is best.

I choose to do the same in return. Blessings

Thank you for that comment! I am always appreciative of a quality education, wherever and however that happens! There are so many things that can't be defined in a single definition. It's how I feel about post-secondary education. Most people assume that means a 4 year college, but for many of my kids, it might be an apprenticeship in a skilled trade (so needed!), 2 year college, or a certificate that gets them a better paying job. We need to all lift each other up and help each other better ourselves...no time for judging, I agree! Blessings to you and your family as well.

It makes me angry to read your post because there are kids out there that need to go to school to be safe. To me that is a result of community breakdown rather than the benefits of having schools. Doesn't this show how 'wrong' everything is with our society?

Great. This is the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67734.06
ETH 3803.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47