My First Day In School

in #education6 years ago

My First Day At CAMPS

It took me by a surprise that i had to witness that gruesome act. It was my first day at CAMPS yet i was subjected to such scene of brutality. That was the thought that lingered in my mind as i watched three students being lashed at their back. They received the strokes of lashes as if it was a mere flies' wing buzzing on their skin. I got scared because it was my first day at school. Daddy had just dropped me off in my class and this is the first scene i saw. I concluded not to befriend those guys as they must be very stubborn to have been punished such an early morning.
school-298680_1920.jpg
Source

I entered the class and greeted my new teacher. His name was Mr. Ako. A plump man with a weird spectacle that hang on his nose. He responded and gave me a grin and showed me to my chair. I was disturbed to be in the class as everyone gazed at me with an eye that made me feel inferior. I was the odd one in class that day. I couldn't concentrate for the lesson and my name had to be shouted several times to bring me to focus whenever Mr. Ako craved my attention. I was exempted from punishment but i felt punished each time i was asked to answer a question. I felt a slight mistake will lead to me receiving lashes as that was the norm in the class. We are punished for not grabbing a concept that is taught in the class room.

The day turned awesome when we had our lunch break. We had a whole hour to play football. It was my first day and i had not made any friends yet. I felt so lonely but was shy to interact with the other students. I remember one beautiful girl walk straight at me. I wanted to teleport that instant from where I was standing as I felt chills all over my body. I had no option than to bend my head when she mentioned my name. I was freakishly shy. We had a short conversation which opened the gateway to friendship. Before I realised, everyone was saying goodbye to me. The day had ended and I set off to go home.

I had an amazing time in school and couldnt wait for the following day. This was the thought that lingered in my mind as I walked home. A new day came and I was excited to goto school. Right in the morning, we had a quick drill which was a recall of what we learnt the previous day. As new as I was, i didnt pay attention in class the previous day and as such didnt remember anything. Our class teacher, Mr. Ako had a cane in his hand which he used to lash anyone who failed to answer a question correctly. It was my turn to answer a question. I knew I would be lashed. I was so desperate and was in despair. Mr. Ako gave me a lash which changed my life.

Prior to coming to the school, I had never been beaten for failing to answer a question before. I was in my world of fantasy, full of play when it came to school activities. I cried and the whole class broke into laughter. Memories of that single lash tormented me for several days. I felt an urge to stop the school but something pushed me to continue. I swore never to receive such lashes again and so I started paying attention. The fear of canes has made me active in class and also a brilliant student. The same cannot be said for all. We all have our individual cures to our problems.

child-613199_1280.jpg
Source

The three guys I saw being lashed the first day were consistently lashed through out my stay in the school. They loved playing football as compared to learning science or mathematics. My initial perception about them had changed after meeting them for a while because I realized I also could be a victim as well. I actually found it difficult to understand why they were perpetual sinners in the crime of not learning. I thought they would be fed up with the canes and pay attention. Nothing of that sort happened. They had become accustomed to the lashes. I believe a lash a day kept them going.

Today I argue whether students should be lashed for not answering questions correctly or not. It might sound so weird in some countries but it is so common in Ghana. Jumping into 16 years after my first day in that school. We have all grown up. The three guys failed academically but are excelling in their football career. If we are to grade success by monetary stands, I will rank them as the most successful among us all who were in that class. To me canes intimidated me to an extent that I lost my self confidence back in my early schooling days. It does more harm than good when used too often. And this is what happens many times in our various schools. The two guys could have easily lost interest in football because they at times got lashed for playing football. That would have been their biggest disaster in live. I believe education is the best thing that happened to man. But schools currently suck at doing the job and we need to change.

This is a call to all who feel the same to write about a proposed education system in comment below and share how an ideal education center should be. Lets create the best imaginary education platform in words on steem blockchain.

Sort:  

Hope you enjoyed your first day!

it's look like i'm reading my story ♥

Very funny. I guess most people have similar folds of events happening to them on their first day

This is one life story that is similar to everyone.
Shunning cane was swags then in school that always propel is to be stubborn,,😂

hello there!!!
every beginning is hard, every school year, every time you move to a new place it is kind of weird because you are not comfortable into the environment, but with time you become more comfortable, and things start changing for good.
nice post!!!
good luck and great day!!!!

Thanks. Its true.

This post was showed by 4 different accounts to 19.000+ followers.
19.000+Followers can see you.(@tenorbalonzo,@hakanlama,@cemalbaba,@asagikulak) Send 0.200 Sbd or Steem. Post link as memo for (minimum 15 upvote)

very good day at first class

Worst thing is trying to find a good seat on the first day of school. “ Waking your kids up for school the first day after a break is almost as much fun as birthing them was. “ The most important day of a person's education is the first day of school, not Graduation Day.

Hihi. It seems every seat you would want to occupy is filled and you will have to sit on the next available one. It can be even more embarrasing just staring at your colleagues to find a seat

Nice sense of humour

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

when i start reading it, I was curious what really happen. it feels like a real happening story.
Lol😄😄 u caught me there... hahaha.
School should fun too. specialy the teacher who teach kids, should be more creative and fun. so kids want to go to school.

Its actually a true story. My vivid description of my first day at school

Here in Uganda canes at school is normal, even the government emphasizes it. I was caned a lot during my primary school days that at times i was left with scars.
I think canes should be stopped at schools.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13