Waiting time, how would you spend it?

in #efficient6 years ago

Today, I went on the business trip to North Sweden and I had to fly two times to reach my destination. The first fly arrived to Arlanda 6.30 am and I had to wait roughly 1,5 hours to catch the second fly. Naturally, I had access to use SAS Lounges and opportunity to take a cup of coffee.

During the lounge time, I was observing people around me. While drinking my morning coffee I noticed a very interesting matter. Inside the lounge, there was at least 40 people and half of them were using their laptops and probably working. People working very early in the morning and using their “free time” to produce some results, is something you don’t see very often in Finland. I guess, some of those were Finnish travellers but not in Finland. Anyway, for me it was a very interesting phenomena.

20180219_073838.jpg

I would like to believe that I’m quite productive and efficient. Probably that’s why I had a bad conscience when being lazy. Luckily, the bad conscience disappeared quite fast when I realized that I’m working on my next Steemit article in my mind. I guess it’s also counted as working. How would you spend your waiting time/free time while waiting for something? Are you going to be as efficient as possible and optimize your effort and time somehow?

-markos86

Sort:  

Don’t be so harsh on yourself - the brainwork takes a lot of energy. 🤗 And as the Finnish phrase goes: well planned is halfway done. I have also noticed that people may look busy...yet they are in the Facebook or just scrolling the internet.😛

I think I wouldn't work unless I had to. Usually, I have to, so that would be a luxury to just sit there enjoying coffee, reading a magazine, observing people...

It is a common thing to check your emails in the morning for example so some of those people might have been doing that.

When I have free time I like to fully concentrate in what I am doing; if I am at an airport or some new place I will fully concentrate in observing the new surroundings. When I decide to work, I will work and not do something else. When I decide to relax I truly relax and stop thinking about other stuff. It really varies with my motivation levels.

Oh and I might just walk around without a clear objective other than collecting some steps to my health app to make me feel better

Well, ill probably have a olut and relax whenever I travel :D :P and I try not to mix up my work and travelling since I might not enjoy anything. But of course, depends on the day/purpose and the pressure one going through at that time . Anyhow, enjoy your travels :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45