Neverending Story

in #eighties3 years ago (edited)

1992 was a different time for me, people were still holding on to the 80s for a bit. A lot of 80 shows and movies were playing on abc, nbc, or sometimes fox. This movie is a childhood treasure of mine.

67303-warner_home_video.jpg

I first saw this movie when I was six, I was in the hallway playing and went into the living room when this was playing. My brother's eyes were glued to the television. Curious I watched it with him and I'm glad I did.

book1.png

During this time in my life reading was boring and I didn't want to do it. But when I saw this movie, it made reading fun for me. I had an over active imagination (and still do) at that time and this movie taught me how to apply it.

1994 Post HONEY-COMB.JPG

This was one of the movies I would try to catch on TV with a bowl of honeycomb on the weekends. At 6 years old for me, sitting on the couch with some honeycomb watching my favorite movies on the Television was my definition of the sweet life.

falkor-winkinggif.gif

I always thought this was a dog, I later found out it was a luck dragon. I remember saying to myself if I ever got me a dog, I would want it to be him. i also remember everyone in my school who saw this movie use to love this guy. This dragon did a great job up awakening my optimism about life.

Atreyu.jpg

Atreyu next to Punky Brewster was one of many of my childhood heroes of the 80s. He showed me the meaning of adventure and journey and how to do it properly. Once I saw the trials and revelations he had went through in the movie, I was inspired. After seeing him, I wanted to be an adventurer.

19fc1e499b34517c9dcfda7d491a020d.jpg

This boy was key to the whole movie because I felt what he was going through, I was going through alot at that time and watching him helped me see things in another perspective. I will say he was the best reader in a movie (even though he was acting). I used to scream out loud when there were plot twists in the many books I've read.

neverending_shot38l.jpg

Seeing the princess all teary eyes made me sympathetic as a kid. It was also when I discovered empathy, I remember seeing this scene everytime and be ready to jump through TV to help her. I had to remember it was just a movie.

How old were you when you saw this for the first time?
If you never seen it before

I STRONGLY RECCOMEND YOU WATCH IT IF YOU WANT TO HAVE AN IDEA OF WHAT TRUE MAGIC OF IMAGINATION IS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42